You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I Had to Tell my Kids That I am Bisexual

in #blog7 years ago

That's pretty cool that you don't have to worry about your family judging you.

I have so many People in my life who are so judgmental about so many things that I feel like I have multiple personalities and have to pretend I'm someone im not when I'm around different groups of people. My dad, my sister, my mom, my coworkers and countless others are all people I have to hide a lot of things from for fear of being judged and outcast.

I'm not bi or anything but I can definitely identify with worrying about being judged by others for a number of things. One of my main goals in life is to be self employed and live in a different part of the country or another country altogether. Where I live and work it seems like if you're not a by-the-book Christian, a raging football fan, etc you're basically an outcast...nothing against christians or anything but I would not fit in at my work place well at all if I wasn't so good at pretending to be someone I'm not.

It's not something I'm particularly proud of (being a chameleon when it comes to personality and behavior). That's one of the things I hate the most about myself is that I give a shit about what other people think.

Sort:  

I used to behave differently with various souls. So much so that i literally didn't have much of a sense of self. It's no fun and is a distraction to whatever is your real life purpose or Dharma. You know...?

I get it though when we work corporate and have bills to pay sometimes we Get wrapped up in that game.

It's not so much that I don't have to worry about my family judging me. (although my kids are especially unjudgie, but not necessarily the rest of my extended family.) It's more that the pain of being unreal became greater than that of being real.

Thanks for sharing your struggles and relating here. I wish you all the best in your dream of financial and interpersonal independence. 😙

I def get the pain of being unreal. Something I've been thinking a lot about lately is how it's kind of dangerous for someone to get close to me. I'm so UNjudgemental that a close relationship w me (be it a friendship or a romantic one like I have w my husband) can really lead someone to find their authentic self. I've even noticed this relationship with myself. I totally accept me for me.... but the rest of the world isn't quite ready for it. I def work in corporate America. It's frustrating for sure. John and I share a lot of the same problems with having to shield our extended family from out 100% selves. I love this post by the way!! I think I'll share with aiden all at once when we have the talk he's so curious about. Just no big deal. He can like boys, girls, both, or neither.. his mom will never love him any more or less no matter what ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54339.14
ETH 2284.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33