Panama Blog #3 - Ants ! - Fascinating, Frustrating & Mass-Murder ! - My Experiences and Perspective here...

in #blog7 years ago (edited)

Ants are increbible creatures, And like Me flourish in tropical weather but its a Love Hate relationship for me.

  • Fascinating :

I can watch ants for hours on end, There are so many reasons to appreciate almost everything about them. (Human like in so many ways)
Its a Natural social structure ( A caste system or chosen at birth I do not know) That I have observed, The larger ants act as Patrol of roadways, If you drop a obstacle on the path, the runners/harvesters find a way around, or wait for a big boy to deal with it (and they do in very short order).

  • Frustrating

The Province I live in is Herrera and we have a semi desert climate so long droughts are possible and expected.
Food and water gets sparse to say the least, for many creatures ( ants included ), So nice green plants in a sea of brown dry land stands out ( and they come ).
A huge ant colony can strip a large tree to the bone in 1 night ! pretty much assuring it will die ( in the dry season)
And if you don't see the ants before the naked tree or plant, Bummer ! ( plants will be another blog )
**which leads us to the last topic :

  • Mass Murder

Its been a long and drawn out process learning how to stop them (dead).
I concentrate on planting fruit trees or other food products, as its easier to justify irrigation at a time of year water gets sparse.
But when the ants come marching 1 by 1.... I intervene (best blogged about in #homesteading) and have been evolving at getting very good, through trial and error plus many dead plants and trees, Plus untold millions of ants.
and now...

  • My Closing Argument/Philosophy

I mentioned Ants being plural, and this blog kind of concentrated on Leaf cutter Ants.
There are hundreds maybe thousands of species of ants, Crazy ants (Hormigas locos) don't bother anybody, their small and just run around, usually seen moving location with their eggs ( seems they never stop moving)
Fire ants of several types, that attack when disturbed, and their bite burns like hell (especially in volume)
And huge ants (of varying types, red or black) to very tiny, that eat wood/trees. they get inside and do their thing till the host collapses and dies, by then its too late to worry.
It pains me in a way, all this killing of biblical proportions I participate in, but I've come to terms with it (kind of) and would rather negotiate or relocate the offenders.
Which makes me think of world rulers & People of power and influence maybe wanting to see humanity's numbers diminished for the very same reasons I eliminate ant populations in my small world ?
Their World is more global in scope, But if not done carefully could backfire on them (humans in numbers are dangerous) unlike my little ant problem, I'm pretty sure the ants won't unite and attack me by the thousands (although some times they try) LOL I'm bigger and faster :-)
Anyway that's another blog #philosophy and I don't want to digress too much.

I'm full of Panama stories, just ill equipped to get them to you, poco poco (little by little) I will get better, hope you stay and grow with me, while I share My Experiences and Perspective here... the best I can.
Thanks for reading

My Signature Post ---> Potential Followers Please Click HERE to get started

Sort:  

Congratulations @codypanama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @codypanama! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Interesting post an interesting view.
For me ants is something like: "If you don't mess with me I don't mess with you"
Of course those ants you are talking about are "arrieras" and they are messing you.
You need to control them.

It was a different post, i liked, and my upvote for that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62832.46
ETH 3374.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48