Yes, walking really can help you

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I love walking. 

On beaches, out in the country, in the woods and forests of tall trees, through a busy mall, a grocery store, really anywhere.  I just love to walk! 


Walking is just something that needs to be incorporated into every day, at least in my life, in order for me to feel "right".



It's so funny to me, having lived in several different cities, how when you go to a store people will try their hardest to find a parking spot close to the door, yet they complain about their weight, size, appearance, etc. So funny. You have a busy life, corporate office job, 17 kids, whatever. No time for exercising or working out.  Yet so many don't think about doing little actions like parking wherever and walking farther to get to the door of the grocery store or when they park at work. Not many think to take the stairs when going up to their office - they'll take the elevator and stand there on their phone posting memes about how hard it is to lose weight (LOL). 



I have found that the simple act of walking, wherever you are - and making conscious effort to maybe take a few extra seconds or minutes to walk a few hundred extra steps will really improve one's day and just feeling overall better. Even if you have 104 errands to run in a day or a week, whatever. It's totally possible. Got kids? That's cool, I have a baby myself. They do what you do, they'll have the same attitude you'll have about walking a little bit extra too. My baby is still teeny tiny, so I push him in a stroller, but once he starts walking, he'll be walking as much as I do and he won't be complaining because he won't know any different. It'll just be a normal mindset to him. 



I think I may be getting to a "point" here. It's just I do a whole lot more observing my surroundings and society around me than complaining about it or taking selfies and self-centered crap like that. I've noticed so many contradictions, that it baffles me and entertains me simultaneously. Like people that drive fast, changing lanes abruptly and then later you hear them complain about horrible drivers - what? (Yea, sometimes, I'll notice people going to the same place as I am, like a cafe or whatever, and some people just talk so loud, ya know?) I can't help but overhear - okay I eavesdrop, whatever, I'm nosey LOL - and it's like wow, just amazeballs. 

I've walked some very long distances for no real reason other than to explore and get some lazy exercise (I do consider walking to be the easiest most effective form of exercise - go figure, I'm not big on lifting weights and doing crunches haha!). No rhyme or reason. But when you get to a point in your life where you just don't have room in your schedule to wander around like that, one can still get that walking in. Whether you live in the country or the city. Those who live in the country are lucky, in my opinion. There's land everywhere, and you don't have to navigate through nearly as many people as in a hustling, bustling, crazy city sea of people. Oh there may be a cow or a horse somewhere, but they'll enjoy your company if you stop to say hi. (Stop to say hi to random strangers and you're considered some kind of weirdo - I know) Some country folk will be like, "I have nowhere to walk to though, how do I go about getting exercise walking around? Not like I live on a farm!" Well, there's an excellent thing called a c-i-r-c-l-e. Make your walk a circle around a big 'ol field you're allowed to be on (some country folk will shoot your butt if you trespass of course) and have some music in your ears so you don't get bored. No reason not to walk. 


Maybe this is on my mind because I know quite a few people and have quite a few family members living in city and country alike and I'm always hearing them complain about not accomplishing their fitness goals, their health, their weight, etc. I understand, because I've fallen off the "fitness" bandwagon quite a bit too. We all get down sometimes or maybe just in a little routine "rut" where you actually forget to do a walk or something, and by the time you remember, you're in bed, like "dang, I totally didn't fit that in!" - but training yourself to get out of that routine and back into the habit of fitting in a walk or a jog or whatever you like to do is on us, as individuals. So anyways I listen to my family and friends / acquaintances complain about this stuff, but then later in the conversation they're telling me about a new show on Netflix that I just have to check out. Really now? Hmm. Interesting. 



I just had a baby 5 months ago and am already trying my best to get back to my "original" weight / size - while caring for my baby without any babysitters or anyone like that. So hearing other people complain, and / or tell me I just have to watch this show they just found on Netflix floors me - hellllloooo! I have things to do, like try to earn money, cook,  clean, breastfeed, change diapers, do playtime / try to make my baby as smart as possible and try to fit in a walk or do a few minutes on this old used elliptical I just bought on an app called OfferUp for $25 (because I'm a hustler like that lol) - no time to sit and watch tv shows eh! People don't hear me complaining about my weight and that's because I'm spending time trying to be as active as I can with my little one - flying him around the living room - and taking advantage of trips to the grocery store by parking far from the door to get in a few extra dozen steps to & from the door. 



So, do I have a point here? Depends on how you look at it, lol! You could see this post as a rant, me trying to vent about some recent interactions I've had with my family and friends, or you could see it as me trying to share my experiences as to why I think everyone (who is capable obviously) should see walking as their easy way to help themselves slim down at least a little bit, or help ease any mental stuff they may be going through. 



Don't just talk the talk, walk the walk! (hahahaha! I couldn't help myself here!)



Feel free to get to know me a little bit more here in my intro post. It's also a pretty easy read :) 

Oh and here's one more cool pic (of people WALKING) lol:


Thank you for your time, see you around!


All images from pixabay


Sort:  

What a great post, I am very lucky to have my adorable dog that make me get off computer and out for a walk daily! I also have a daughter, she is 15 months old now and started walking 3 months ago. She is a bundle of joy to go outside for little baby steps with her. Walking is important and keeps us healthy! keep up the great posts, and thank you for sharing.

Thanks, much appreciated! I know what you mean, I've got two awesome dogs myself, as well as my baby boy, so I get plenty of exercise taking care of the 3 of them! Awww, congrats on your little girl beginning to walk! So cool! Bet she's adorable :)
Yea, I've been a little shaky on what exactly to write on here honestly, like I have so much to say usually but I sit down to write and then I don't get out what I thought I was going to get out. Know what I mean?
Anyways, thanks for stopping by :)

Beautiful :) I like how you organize your content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 56576.23
ETH 3024.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29