You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm not Negative but I am Real

in #blog7 years ago

YES YES YES!! I can relate to so much in this post. It is very true that you can't say you know what it's like to have depression just because your sibling does. That is like saying you know what it's like to have cancer because your sibling had it. No, you really don't! Furthermore, depression is often a very lonely disease. You don't know what it's going on when the depressed individual is alone. I would not wish clinical depression on anyone. It is not just "the blues" that you can wish yourself out of with some ultra positive brainwash mantra from a book. By the way, I do think there are some great self help books out there but that doesn't mean it will help every person. I do agree that everything that one has in life is attained through hard work. Even then as you said, things fall through. Life is not perfect. Life is life. I'm with you on being cautiously positive. Being upbeat and conveying positivity is great! However learning to take a realistic approach is better. I think you made a wise choice with your son. I work in Healthcare and often people with your sons disability do better with therapy and being immersed in an environment meant for them. Resteemed.

Sort:  

@chelsea88 thank you so much and I knew this would resonate with you. Depression is incredibly lonely. I have never had cancer so I don't know what it is like. However in the past I have compared the seriousness of depression and cancer because both are very serious. Not enough people realize or want to accept it. And yes I cannot help my son anymore. That is if I neglect helping myself and being a better mom to my daughter. Since my son is doing well where he is, I can now concentrate on what I need to concentrate.

Right on. You're making the best of an unfortunate situation (i.e. your son's disability.) As you said he can thrive in the right environment. Didn't you say he is autistic? I recently watched something about an aytistic kid who became a fast food restaurant manager. So they can really thrive with the right tool set and sincs you cant provide it without sacrificing you and your daughters wellbeing, you made the best choice! You should never feel like you have to defend that either

@chelsea88 yes that is right he is autistic and the only way he can do well is if he is in the right environment that will allow him to thrive. And hoping for the best he will do well and he has it in him, but he can't be at home for that to happen. His wellbeing and mine and my daughters wellbeing would be at stake. It's unfortunate but it is what it is and just trying to play the difficult hand as well as I can.

Sounds like your doing an excellent job too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68180.36
ETH 2642.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70