What to do with gnats...

in #blog6 years ago

Irritants



Maybe it's just me

but sometimes little things start to bug me.
A vacuum running just after I settled in for a nap.
A traffic jam.
A change in flight schedules.
A bounced check.
A misplaced phone.
There are a thousand and one irritants that can intrude in my well-planned day.


And in those moments, I have a choice to make.

I can let the irritant grow in my mind until it poisons my heart, it shows in my face, it brings an edge to my words, and it invariably impacts my relationships.



Or I can reframe it

I can settle down, look for positives, and use the irritating event to point me to a greater good.
I can use the interruption to seek ways to help the person who was irritating me.
I can use the time from the interrupted nap to pray, or to work on a writing project.
I can use the traffic jam to thank God for protecting me from whatever might have been in my path if I hadn't been slowed down.
I can recognize that good can come out of a change in my plans.
I can thank God for a better plan from His better vantage point, and better wisdom, and better ways, and better intentions.


Intrusions into my calm little life are opportunities for God to lead me in a better way.


Image Credit 1
Image Credit2

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63476.83
ETH 3413.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50