Zen writing and investing

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

DSC_0370 Custom.jpg

I thought of writing something. When I thought about what, I couldn't come up with what exactly. I could ramble about work – probably will – but the thought of just telling what happened during the day just seems a bit empty to me. So instead I'll embrace the unknown and rather say what the saliva in the mouth brings (this is a Finnish idiom, don't know if it sounds reasonable at all translated – you tell me). Work is already methodical enough. Also, the thing is, methodical approach to writing doesn't seem to work for me. Trying to structure things too much takes the spirit away from what writing is supposed to be for me. I like to keep this realm more about exploration rather than trying to put up a whole entirety about things from the beginning.

I find that a more authentic result for myself is achieved anyway when "neglecting" the reader by not having a predictable structure, but the great thing is that one who does not like the lack of structure, is free to not read. Of course, things get complicated if one wishes to gain visibility and thinks this is achieved by making informative posts about things that are popular, because trying to appeal to as many as possible can paradoxically have the exact opposite effect: not appealing to anyone.

I find it similar to the idea of zen (as far as I understand any of it): you try not to think the reactions of others, because that creates the most authentic result, but when you actively try not to think the opinions of others, you are in the classical puzzle as the monk who so badly wants to stop desiring.

The pragmatic solution to this is to just try, try and try. Like trying to hone a skill; at some point you realize whatever the act you are performing is happening at ease. The act becomes one, with no single individual subpart needing intense conscious attention – this is what flow is.

DSC_0475 2 Custom.jpg

My flow at work is actually improving, because today I managed to do all of my sorting pre-work of mail without any additional help, even though it was Monday with bunch of ads to be delivered. Though I must admit that one sector was cut from my delivery route. Not because I was so bad – the change was due in any case, because it makes the routing more efficient when I don't have to get stuck at traffic lights just for one sector.

It was still 12 hour day, but didn't even feel all that heavy after 13-hour days.

I did some calculations about my salary, and found out that the pay from a 13-hour day is 197 euros. That is about 497 STEEM with the current exchanges rate. Not a bad amount from a single day of work, especially at an entry-level job. Obviously, I'm not just throwing all of it at STEEM, though I'm definitely buying in some.

I have little expenses without having to pay rent living with my dad, so most of the money will be saved and I'm thinking of creating some type of plan for investing part of the money, like maybe 10-20% of the salary and salaries I'm going to get, depending how aggressive I want to go with it. Not just into crypto (ie. STEEM mostly, probably), but perhaps in some stocks as well, of which I got interested after reading @malloryblythe's post about investing.

With crypto, my main hold will probably always be STEEM, because that is the one that I'm actually also using, meanwhile with many others the only thing is exactly what they say: hold.

Though I'm sure it wouldn't hurt to diversify a little to reduce some of the risks that are associated with anything uncertain.

The main reason for having a plan, I would say, is to negate the emotions from the equation, which is especially important with the volatile markets of crypto with fear and FOMO inducing swings.

Talking of which, adequate sleep is essential for maintaining emotional control, so that's what I'm going to do, even though it's an off day for me tomorrow (Monday's ain't so bad at all when the following day is off). I'd still rather keep a consistent rhythm, which is useful when the wake ups on working days are at 5 am.

Sort:  

197 Euros for one day of work???? Wow!

Yeah, I know, good pay like I said. Of course, we have big expenses here, too, the biggest being housing, but when that is not a concern of mine I can save a lot of money.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh hey!

I looked into it and it seems that most of the free or low cost robo advisor apps are United States only. But I would ask around and see if you can find an international equivalent, because it can be really fun and interesting. Just think of it as another way of diversifying. :)

I looked into it and it seems that most of the free or low cost robo advisor apps are United States only.

Oh, ok. I guess I'll have to look into some that would work in EU as well.

Posted using Partiko Android

Just go take another dump and let us know. Pics! Or it didn’t happen!!!

😜

Just go take another dump and let us know. Pics! Or it didn’t happen!!!

Lol, even a fun shit becomes just the same ol' shit if done over and over again. I don't like that :P

@blewitt you perv. You utter, utter perv. I thought the blockchain was about quality...not about you getting a quick glimpse of young men's underpants 🤯

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks for the image in my head lol

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Hi @celestal!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.397 which ranks you at #2357 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 203 contributions, your post is ranked at #84.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @celestal! You received a personal award!

Congratulations! You've been among the most infectious people during the April Fools' Steem Plague in 2019! organized by @suesa

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You got a 39.84% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @celestal! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61141.76
ETH 2438.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56