You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The curse of the perfectionist...and procrastination...

in #blog6 years ago

The reason: if i am perfect than my mother will not yell at me and tell me that i do not love her. This creates a terror in me that placing my hand on a hot stove is far easier to overcome.

Of course, this was the younger than 5 year old self that tried desperately to read my mother's moods and NEVER do anything bad or wrong, or make a misstep. Because the punishment for failure was soul crushing.

The really big problem was the hot and cold reactions to the same things. I never recognized it at the time, but what my mother did was crazy making. I still haven't put the whole together in my mind. I just ignore all the wrongs, and hope and pray that my mother loved me.

I am a perfectionist of the highest order.

Sort:  

...Parents have an amazing talent to screw your future thought processes and actions, without ever even realizing it...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54