Took a Little Trip to Nashville Part 4

in #blog7 years ago

Last Day

We are finally here, our last day in Nashville. If you have been following along, you know that we have already done some fun things, but if I had to pick, this last day was probably my most favorite. We really only had two things planned for today. The first was going to the Country Music Hall of Fame, and the second was getting lunch. One of the evenings that my wife and I were in our room resting, she happened to be on Facebook and an advertisement for a local restaurant popped up on her feed. Initially, she was a little freaked out that Facebook knew we were in Nashville. As she got looking at the ad, the item they were advertising looked really good to her. I told her we could absolutely get lunch at that place one of the days we were there.

We got around and walked down past Broadway to the Country Music Hall of Fame. They had a special exhibit on Keith Urban, plus all of the other normal exhibits that they usually have. It was a very cool experience. There was so much to see all in one place, I can’t even begin to describe it. One of the coolest things I remember seeing was the hand written song lyrics from some famous song writers including Willie Nelson and Taylor Swift.


After we left the Country Music Hall of Fame, we found a cab and headed to lunch. The place that my wife had seen the advertisement for was called Party Fowl. It is a little bit away from the Broadway honkytonk area, so we weren’t quite sure how busy it was going to be. It was a little before noon on a Monday and when we got there, they really weren’t that busy. We took a seat and decided to start out with an appetizer. We shared an onion loaf, which you can see in the picture. Then for our meal I got an order of Nashville hot chicken fingers and my wife got the deconstructed cobb salad she had seen the picture of on Facebook. The food was amazing. Being my first time having Nashville hot chicken I figured I should get the hot flavor. It was definitely that. I was able to eat it without much discomfort. It had a good mix of heat while still being flavorful. We washed our food down with some beers from the Yazoo brewing company that I had mentioned in one of my previous posts. We will absolutely visit this place again when we go back.

Free Ride

As we were starting to finish up our lunch, I began to notice out the window that there were no cabs going by. While we had gotten one to take us down to the restaurant, it was in an area that wasn’t frequented by cabs otherwise. I expressed this concern to our waitress and she kind of laughed. She said that a lot of people don’t realize what I had, and go out to the side walk waiting for a cab to show up. They end up standing there for a very long time until they realize no cabs are coming back down that way. We considered walking, but the waitress instead suggested that she call us a service called “Free Ride”. Free Ride is basically a group of people that drive around on golf carts and they take people wherever they need to go. There is no fee to use Free Ride, they just work off the tips. I am more familiar now with Uber than I was back then and in the future I will probably just use Uber to get around Nashville when I need to.

Our Free Ride driver was great though, he had lots of interesting information and was a pleasure to talk to. We had noticed on our flight to Nashville that there were several groups of women on our plane apparently celebrating a bachelorette party. We mentioned that to our driver and he told us that Nashville and Las Vegas routinely compete with each other for the top bachelor/bachelorette party destination. Good to know! We had him drive us back to Broadway because my wife and I were planning to listen to some more of the live local music Nashville had to offer. We stopped in a bar called HonkyTonk USA and while we were only planning on spending a short time there, we ended up staying for several hours.

Three to four hours later we figured we should probably walk (or stumble) our way back to our hotel to get some rest before we had to fly home the next day. As we started walking we discussed that we should go back to the Goo Goo Cluster store/factory we had visited on one of the previous days and get some candy for our parents. We walked down to where the store was at the other end of Broadway and entered. As we were walking around the store, I noticed that we had stepped in front of a green screen. I looked at my wife and I said, “why do they have a green screen in here”. Just as I said that this lady came up to me. I thought sure I was going to get asked to leave, or at least to get out of the way, but instead she asked if we wanted to get our pictures taken with the Property Brothers. I was shocked, what would the Property Brothers from TV be doing here? Well apparently, they were hosting the Grand Ole Opry the next night, so they were in town promoting it. Suffice it to say, we said yes and as you can see we got our picture taken with them!

Wrapping Up!

After our excitement for the day we headed back to our hotel. After resting for a little bit, we decided to head back out to grab something for dinner. We went back to Demo’s that we had visited our first full day in Nashville and had another nice dinner there. After that we walked back to our hotel and got ready to catch an early flight home the next morning. The picture here is flying into our layover in Chicago. Nashville is a really great town. If you ever get the chance to visit someday, I highly encourage it. Even if you aren’t a fan of country music, there is so much to see and experience there, that I guarantee you will have a good time. This year my wife hits that same milestone age that I hit when we took this trip. I asked her what she wanted to do for her birthday and without hesitation she said “Let’s go back to Nashville”. This time we are going with some friends so I know it is going to be a blast!
If you are just jumping on board, you can read about our previous days in Nashville here:

Took a little trip to Nashville Part 1
Took a little trip to Nashville Part 2
Took a little trip to Nashville Part 3

Again, if you have been to Nashville and there is something we missed, that we absolutely have to see, leave a comment and let me know. I welcome all suggestions!

Sort:  

Congratulations! This exceptional post has been featured in Episode 7 of The STEEM Engine Express Podcast. Click the link to hear what I had to say, and keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60754.57
ETH 2658.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51