Out with the old...

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

I shared a picture a short time ago of my dog and I sitting on our deck watching a sunset. I mentioned that we were in the process of demolishing that deck and I would write a post about it. Well here you go!

My wife and I moved to our house about two or three years ago. One of the things we immediately loved about the house was sitting on the deck and enjoying the outdoors.

It was getting time to re-stain the deck and I noticed that some of the boards in certain areas were starting to rot. It was then we decided that we should probably just get a new deck instead of trying to fix the old one. Wanting to save some money we decided to do all of the demo ourselves. You can see in the picture above that I started by removing the railings from the bottom half.

I had rented a dumpster from a local company and we started throwing the railing in there. I then started working on removing the old deck boards.

The boards by themselves were too long to fit in the dumpster, so I cut them while they were still attached and then started removing them one by one.

I didn't have a proper pry bar, so I found myself removing every screw one by one to get the boards up, it was a long process...


IMG_20180510_171447.jpg


IMG_20180512_173615.jpg


IMG_20180513_153558.jpg


IMG_20180513_153556.jpg


You can see that they had built a shed under the deck at some point. Our new plan for the deck requires it to be at a much lower level, so the shed had to go.

That was the worst part of the whole demolition. They used these tongue and groove beams on the roof of the shed and they were very wet and very heavy. It took four of us to move the roof on the shed and get them pried apart from each other.

After a grueling week of work, we finally have the area ready for the new deck to be installed. My wife and I wanted to go with a artificial deck so that we don't have to worry about resealing it every other year.

It is getting close to camping season for us, so we decided that we should probably have the deck professionally installed. Lucky for you, otherwise I would probably have another boring post about my deck!

The main thing I learned from this process... Always make sure you have the right tools! A chainsaw and a larger pry bar would have made a huge difference!


IMG_20180516_173812.jpg


IMG_20180516_173821.jpg


IMG_20180516_173833.jpg


Many of my posts have been featured in The STEEMEngine and Steemrepair, check them out:

steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

I can imagine you and your family enjoying it a lot when it's done! And now you have the summer to sit with a drink and look the sunset, that must be awesome.

Thanks for sharing!

That would be awesome. I hope we can get it finished up soon.

This post has received a 10.00% UpGoat from @shares. Send at least 0.1 SBD to @shares with a post link in the memo field.

Interested to earn daily? Delegate Steem Power to receive 95% payout rewards. Use this link https://on.king.net/shares to delegate SP to @Shares. Join us at https://steemchat.com/ discord chat.

Support my owner. Please vote @Yehey as Witness - simply click and vote.

Wow! What a huge job! We have just finished putting new siding on our house, and in the process, we had to demolish our back porch because it was also becoming rotten and unsafe. We burned most of the wood, saving the good pieces to build a goat shed with.

Good work! Looking forward to seeing how you build your new one! Ill want to see for inspiration! (We havent built ours yet either!)

No problem. We are on our fifth edition of the plans so it has already been a long process. The old wood was pressure treated and painted so I didn't want to burn it. I would have though if it had just been normal wood.

Thanks for sharing this cool post on the @steemit community, it was nice read through

Thank you!

I stay in an apartment and man, this pictures make me realize how much i'm missing. Is it expensive to find someone to help you with the work you are doing to your house?

Yeah, it can be pretty expensive. Especially since we want to go with composite so we can save time and money on maintenance down the road.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #140 (5/20/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58639.60
ETH 3167.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43