My first snowmobile adventure + first time ice fishing on a frozen lake

in #blog7 years ago

It was Saturday morning and I hadn't slept much from the night before. I was on maybe 3 hours of sleep. I knew that we were supposed to be going snowmobiling at a cabin that my wifey's dad rented for the weekend. In part, it was to celebrate my daughters birthday. I looked at the date and realized it was my daughters birthday. Not that I forgot her birthday, but being a night owl due to my business my days got a little mixed. I thought her actual birthday was on Sunday. I had the idea to sleep in peace while they went out and fun and get some much deserved rest and then be out there the following day to get some fun in myself. We had about $100 and it should be a good day. It was about 7 or 8 am, as I was having a hard time sleeping. I looked over at my computer screens and noticed my miners were in the red. As I stared at a spam of "No's" I saw that I had no internet connection.

I forgot to pay the bill

Then I saw the date It was my daughters birthday, not the following day.

Whoops!

Well my daughter was still sleeping, so nothing was lost. I went and woke her up and told her Happy Birthday! She looked at me, turned over and went back to sleep. While I averted that crisis, I figured "Well, I guess I'm not going to go to sleep for a while." and waited for an hour or two for the internet store to open so I can go pay my bill.

This meant that we might not go snowmobiling at all, because I'm about to possibly use our gas money for the bill. Nope, I had enough for both. I got my miners going again, gased up the car with the remaining money and hoped for the best.

We took off and landed at our destination around noon. It was only 41 miles. My wife was freaking out over nothing, because I thought it was farther away. I had enough gas for two trips. This was at the Clearwater Resort in Gordon, WI right off of "Lower Eau Claire Lake"

SANY0656.JPG

"Toys!" I thought. I was unsure where we were going to ride them yet and I was about to have quite the day!

SANY0710.JPG

SANY0719.JPG

For the kids

SANY0658.JPG

Well, my daughter was the only one small enough and she wasn't having it. She just turned 5 and decided she was not big enough. I was okay with this, but if we go again this year I'm going to try to talk her into riding it.

We walk in and everyone was basically waiting for us, so it was in and out! Everyone gets loaded up. There aren't enough "toys" for everyone to ride, so multiple trips are required. I proceeded down the hill. I wasn't quite sure what I was looking at til I panned to the left and saw that it was a frozen lake.

SANY0664.JPG

SANY0663.JPG

SANY0662.JPG

Just as I put my camera away I was picked up. I wasn't sure I wanted to do this. I had never been on a frozen lake before. I was certainly nervous about falling in! We took a ride to an ice fishing hut that had already been set up. "Well" I thought. "If they and their equipment aren't falling in, neither will I"

We drove up from this way. The red fourwheeler is one of ours going to get more supplies. All that you see is lake. I passed the red ice hut in the distance on my way to this spot.
SANY0668.JPG

SANY0670.JPG

My little one, still amazed that we're standing in the middle of a lake
SANY0672.JPG

SANY0674.JPG

SANY0677.JPG

They really thought of everything when they decided to plan this gathering. We had the ice hut a bunch of toys and even a fire pit. It was at least 70 degrees in the ice hut, surprisingly warm for sitting on a frozen lake. I was pretty amazed with the fire pit they had going on. It was basically on a metal sled.

SANY0675.JPG

SANY0690.JPG

and of course, it wasn't too long before we got hungry. Hot dogs, chips and beer on a frozen lake made for a pretty good time.

SANY0695.JPG

I wasn't about to eat my hotdog in the cold though. So let's get in the otter, shall we?

SANY0680.JPG

SANY0684.JPG

Well there wasn't much to see in the otter box. It was just for warmth and warm eating! But there were two ice fishing holes! I never got to ice fish myself. I didn't even know there would be an ice house, much less that we'd be snowmobiling on a frozen lake. Had I known, I'd of brought my fishing gear. Turns out my fishing gear was in the trunk the whole time This just hit me as I went to the store earlier and had to use the trunk. "Oh, there's all my fishing stuff" I hadn't used the trunk all winter yet.

So after lunch, it was time to go riding.

You ready?

SANY0767.JPG

Well, don't be too ready. I have no video, but it was fun! Max speed was about 65 MPH for the main one that I rode around. It wasn't until the end of the day that I realized there was a faster one. You bet I gave it a go. It went from 0 to 125 mph in no time. So fast it was exhilarating!

SANY0766.JPG

Took a ride with my two lovelies to get out in the open and take some photo's
SANY0728.JPG

SANY0745.JPG

SANY0743.JPG

SANY0735.JPG

Suddenly these two guys in snowmobiles showed up as I was trying to snap a selfie. They thought we were in trouble or stranded and wanted to make sure we were okay. Just as fast as they showed up, they took off. This was all I could get.
By the time I snapped the 2nd picture, they were long gone.
SANY0738.JPG

As the sun started to go down, it started getting really cold. The temperature was dropping pretty fast, and it was starting to wear on is. The only to really stay warm at this point was to either huddle up in the ice hut or go for a ride. There were 7 of us in there, and at that point we all decided it was time to go.

SANY0776.JPG

Back on the trail, it was the end, but what a day. I'd say it was a perfect way to celebrate my childs birthday. She still had fun, and so did we. I couldn't have asked for a better adventure to take on her birthday. Fatherhood felt good that day.

SANY0779.JPG

I hope you enjoyed reading about my adventure! Both were first times for me and I am happy to be able to share the experience with the Steemit community! Even more so being able to experience it with my two favorite girls in the world

This is the end of my snowmobiling adventure and I bid you a great day! Take care and God Bless!

@bitfiend

Sort:  

Wow! That was some experience over there, i love the fact that you took out time to celebrate your family. To me, Family is everything and I look forward to being a great dad someday. I hope you get more adventure by the time she turned 6, Keep being a great dad.

Thank you! Family is everything. Without family, there's really not much else. Wherever people go, a sense of family is always needed!

Great blog and Happy Birthday to your little one , a birthday she will remember for life. This is the best way to bond as a family. We love to spend time with our daughter as well outdoor, infact we did a similar on snowmibile trip this winter (yet to blog). My daughter is turning 4 in 2 weeks :) You gave me some ideas now :) . I look forward to such great post

Thank you, it really is the best way to bond! Yet to blog your snowmobile trip? What are you waiting for? :) Plans for another one for the kiddo's birthday? Either way, I'll toss ya a follow. Look forward to the post!

Ha ha ya , I am kind of behind on it . Will post soon . Thank you!

Great blog! How cool just a few days ago you were talking about ice fishing and you made it happen. I am going to Colorado in March and am going snowmobiling for the first time. Any tips on how to not crash? Lol

Well, we were on a lake, so there's not much to crash into. I just kept it straight, lol. Felt like riding a jetski.

Wow, what an incredible way to enjoy fatherhood. And a good time to celebrate with family.

Thank you I appreciate your comment! It was a great time and I would not have done it by myself to be honest. I typically enjoy doing everything and/or nothing with my family :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56182.86
ETH 2369.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30