You Win Some - You Lose Some!

in #blog7 years ago

The other day, I posted something in a Facebook group I'm a part of. Someone commented on my comment:

"You're DarthShadie from YouTube, right? I love your videos!"

That's super cool. Someone recognised me. I often post videos there, so some of them have begun following me, and others are recognising me. I'm still a small channel, but this is a win.

Then today, someone else writes:

"I can't stand the way that woman talks."

I responded that I was sorry she didn't like my voice. She clarified that she's into morbid and tragic things and my energy is too perky for her taste. So I told her not to worry about it, not everyone is compatible with everyone's energy. I can be pretty dynamic, and many people love me for it. I love me for it. But at first I was bothered, it was the first comment like that I received in quite some time. It took me aback and I felt a bit down about it.

You win some and you lose some.

But I learnt something about knowing my self-worth. It shouldn't matter what people think. I know a YouTuber who used receive comments from people who hated his intro, and he kept the same intro and has over a million subscribers today who love his intro.

That lady is allowed to not like my energy, it's her right. It doesn't make what I do "the wrong thing" or mean that I'm doing it "the wrong way." It simply means that this person isn't compatible with me, that's all, but a bunch of other people are.

So I won twice, in that case, because I realised something, and I'm going to need to not let these comments affect me, bring me down, or make me feel inadequate, because as I grow, there will be more. But a lot more positive ones, I'm sure.

Growing pains, I say. Growing, I am growing.

Sort:  

so true just keep on doing what you do there will always be someone that wont like you

F*ck yeah!!! :D :D :D :D

Good on ya lass, for recognizing this (and also for getting recognized :P)
I think one of the tougher lessons we learn in life is to learn to accept who we are, but the toughest lesson we learn after that is to learn to accept other people who don't always accept us. You've just nailed it good, and it makes me so proud. And happy too, especially for you.

It is this form of nobility and understanding that will allow us to unite as a species and shed the false walls that have been built between us, so kudos to you for adding more fuel to the fire.

Or energy, I should say :P

Anyway, I'm really glad you were able to rise above the pettiness most people fall into when met with that sort of criticism, and let your inner compassion find you in those circumstances. Many simply respond with a supposedly 'savage' comment these days, and then feel good about it, and I've never quite understood why.

So congrats once again, and wish you all the best in the MAP #30 :)
You've got my vote for sure :D

Thank you so much!

I love the turn of phrase you use: to learn to accept other people who don't always accept us.

It can be a challenge, but we all like them challenges on Steemit, don't we :p Most my likfe, I've been a People-pleaser, so I've always felt bad at negative responses, seeking validation from others and trying to make everyone happy. The problem is, when you post things en masse, like videos, blogs, fiction, etc, you can't please everyone. It's one thing to manage pleasing your parents, siblings, to receive as little criticism from them, but you can't do that with the whole world. And I've learnt that sometimes, my mom won't be happy and that's ok, she'll complain that I didn't do my dishes, in my own house, but when I tell her all te videos I filmed instead, she's happy I was productive. And when I DO do my dishes, she likes it when I tell her, it makes her happy to know that sometimes, they don't always pile up. Similarly, some viewers will be happy with one video or the other, and not with another video, but they'll tune in to see what I,ve done because they are eager for the next time I post that type of video they enjoy.

And when people are critical, I can't let it get me down. I have a tendancy to question myself, question my worth. As I work on my healing, I get better at recognising my own self worth, and some days, those types of comments don't bother me. When they do, talking about it helps. It's a learning curve, and it can be a fun one :)

Loading...

Congratulations @binkyprod! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It's a setback, but for whom? Not for you!

You've gained strength and knowledge. Confidence that what you do is unique and reflects yourself.

The commenter just lost their respect and whined over something they have no control over.

Good luck with your channel!

Thank you :)

You don't have to let what other says about you bring your down.. just keep your head straight and don't look back.. focus on your goals and you will get there

Thanks! I suppose I need to work on the tendency to seek validation from exterior sources, so that whether it's positive or negative reinforcement, it doesn't affect my own self-validation.

All publicity is good publicity & the operative word in this sentence is publicity. As Mr T says in the Snickers advert 'get some Nuts'

hahaha :p So I can chew on this publicity. Spit out the bad, I suppose XD

I came to visit your blog after you commented on mine. I love the way you wrote, your self-discovery journey. I will follow you, I do a regular love and marriage post.

Cool :) Thanks. I'm glad you enjoy some of my content.

Have you seen this? I'll always remember it.

Congratulations! Your article has been added to the latest "Six of the Best" AAKOM-MAP30.
Such curated posts are only available to New Mapsters, but anybody can request to join MAP here.
Voting shall take place entirely within the MAP chatroom and winner(s) notified after 7 days.
Good luck and welcome!

Cool, thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57475.27
ETH 2375.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34