You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Life's Journey - Life's Card Game - Part 6 - Giving Hope

in #blog6 years ago

I'm sitting here conflicted. I don't know if I should share my story or even if I cannot.

I got the call late one afternoon. "If you wish to see mother alive you better come right now." I was in Yuma and my mother was in Spokane, Wa. At that time I was her primary caretaker and she was visiting family in Spokane.

My brother woke me up with the call. I often sleep in two shifts per day and this was the first. I told him I didn't think I could get out before morning and promised to keep in close touch. I lied. I only tried to go back to sleep for about 15 minutes then got up and checked flights. No possible way to be there prior to noon their time the next day. I put together a 'fly bag' and got on my motorcycle and hit the road. It was 115F (46C) when I walked out the door. I called my brother from North Las Vegas about 5 hours later to tell him I was on the way. It was a 1500 mi (2400 km) ride. I stopped there to try to catch up with some hydration. I drank two liters of water and stayed until I peed. It was now dark and I was moving on.

By the time the sun came up I was in Wells Nevada. The temp was 26F (-3C). I had to stop. My shivering was inputting my steering. I called my brother to tell him where I was and when I might make it in. He promised to text me when he got to the hospital. Roughly 6 hours later I got a text from my brother to call him. Fearing the absolute worst, I did.

He told me that mom had renaissanced a bit and that we were now measuring the end in days not hours. And to get some sleep so he didn't have to come scrape me off the pavement someplace. He didn't have time.

I made it in time. About noon the next day. Turns out Mom had 5 years for us...

So. I guess the point of all those words is that the age of miracles is still upon us. Enjoy them while you can, they aren't always there.

Sort:  

bigtom13 first of all, thank you for sharing the story with us. It is not easy sometimes to talk about those times.

I can partly understand how you felt on that journey with a motorcycle. Because I had 5-hour ride back home with the same thought as my father. That I might not see him alive again. I got a very similar phone call from brother that day. The trip back was a nightmare. So many thoughts going through my head...

I am glad you arrived SAFE to the hospital and that your mom got better as well and lived for another 5 years. But driving motorcycle on those temperatures is a bit "crazy." Really glad you made it safe there. Sometimes desperate times require desperate measures.

I truly appreciate you sharing the story with me. Have an amazing day, my friend. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 65904.42
ETH 2618.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67