For the love of God!!....

in #blog7 years ago

For any webmasters out there , For the love of God ... please stop using Recaptcha! .


captcha-202234_1280.png


Image Source

In my honest opinion , it is the most annoying pile of useless shite out there. Sure it probably does what it's suppose to , which is to keep bots out , but another thing it accomplishes is to frustrate the living daylights out of your visitors.

When I first started to have to use it to enter sites ect. a few months back , it was fine. It worked and was pretty simple. It could be slightly annoying at times , but mostly it wasn't much of a problem. Then after a little while , the experience slowly degraded over time. No matter what you did , no matter what answers you gave it would just not let you pass. And then when you got so many wrong , it would make tests that just went on and on and on.

So I ended up just avoiding sites that used it all together , as much as possible anyway. Now being back from a super long vacation (travel I should say) I started using it again , and my first thought was ' Thank God they fixed it! ' . It was easy again , no problems , a simple test to let you pass and it just worked. Again , it started to slowly degrade , sometimes it just does not want to let you pass, no matter what you do. Also , just recently it got even worse and took it one step further. Even after you finally passed the Recaptcha test and let you through , for some reason it would pass to the site that you entered an invalid answer. Yes ... thank you ... yet another level of frustration.

So please webmasters ... Can you please find any other alternative to use instead of Recaptcha. I would think it would save your users a lot of frustration.

Just my two cents ... and I'm sticking to it :)

Sort:  

The worst ones seem to be the stupid 'pick the images with vehicles in them' ones. I'm not sure if you've run into them...

But really?? I fail 80% of the time, and I'm pretty sure that an AI would be more capable at that than me anyway... I mean look at Google photos or Facebook...

Hah yeah , I have seen those. I'm getting cars , street signs , and store fronts mostly (now that I think about it , that's the only ones I've been getting). Lately it's been absolutely horrible , it literally never lets me pass the first time anymore.

I'm starting to think whatever runs ReCaptcha doesn't know what the images and/or the correct answers are anymore.

What I don't get, is how is it still relevant? Computers have proven to be amazing at image detection and can probably identify those cars or street signs both faster and more accurately than a person...

And the worst is when you are on your phone and they only work on computers, and you can't use the site.

Nice post.

Congratulations @betelzeus! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67363.69
ETH 3247.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66