The Mandela Effect... what do YOU remember?

in #blog6 years ago

What's up my fellow Steem Punks & Princesses?!

I'm sure by now you have heard about the Mandela Effect but if you haven't... this might shock you.


Without even noticing it, you might have experienced this crazy phenomenon in one way or another. Let me start by telling you how it originally got to be called the "Mandela Effect". It originated from a man named Nelson Mandela, he was the President of South Africa when he passed in December of 2013.. but the weird thing is ALOT of people remember him dying in prison in the 1980's and even remember his funeral being broadcasted on TV. This caused a huge controversy and it ended up sparking alot of theories. The main theory being that both memories are correct just from two separate timelines or an alternate reality, yup you heard me right. Alot of people believe we are living in a parallel universe and that we are remembering things from a previous or different one...
nmm.jpg

Here's an example of one that effected me personally.


"It's a beautiful day in the neighborhood , a beautiful day for a neighbor, wont you be mine?" ...Remember this song? It is from popular PBS show Mr Rogers Neighborhood. The lyrics I have presented here are incorrect. ... The first line is in fact "Its a beautiful day in THIS neighborhood".... So basically either I had been wrong my entire life, or this is a case of parallel universes ...also known as the Mandela effect.

Another really popular case is the Berenstein Bears.

We all read the books and watched the cartoons. The common "misremembering" is that it is The Berenstein Bears when it actually is The Berenstain Bears... A single letter will confuse millions for a lifetime. I specifically remember this one being The Berenstein Bears, Me and so many others swear it has never been the Berenstain Bears.

The Mandela effect has become so popular that there is even a subreddit dedicated to the many cases people have experienced personally. Many other forums show the cases of the Mandela Effect and I suggest you check it out. I found it all very interesting and it makes me question. Are we in a parallel universe? Let me know your thoughts in the comments below. I'm going to leave you with some more examples that may or may not blow your mind.

Oscar Meyer OR Mayer?


I personally remember it being MEYER. So does everybody else I know but apparently it and has always been MAYER.

How about the old guy from Monopoly?


Many people remember him wearing a monocle on his eye, but as you can guess.. he doesn't and hasn't ever worn one.
bhgg.jpg

Jif? Or Jiffy?


Here is one that really bugs me because I always ate Jiffy peanut butter as a kid. To mine and others confusion it apparently isn't and has never been Jiffy. It has always been Jif. Super weird.
.

Kit-Kat or KitKat?


One simple dash is driving people nuts because most of us swear that it always had the dash in the middle separating the two words. It never did according to KitKat Inc.

Remember Sex IN the city?


So do I... but we're wrong, it's Sex AND The City.. Dang that one really messes with my head.

We all know the famous line from StarWars


Well it looks like alot of us are remembering it incorrectly. I'm sure at once in your life you have heard the words "Luke I am your father" BUT weirdly enough that isn't what Darth Vader says, he says "No, I am your father" Here's the clip to prove it. hmmmm..

"Mirror Mirror on the wall"


Or is it "Magic Mirror on the wall"? Most likely you have seen the children film Snow White, its an American Classic. Most people remember the Evil Witches most famous line to be "Mirror Mirror on the wall who is the fairest of them all?" But in the clip below you can see that is not what is said...

There is so many cases of the Mandela Effect


If you simply google "Mandela" you will find tons of instances where you might remember something being one way but it wasn't and hasn't ever been that way. It's pretty crazy stuff and it really makes you think. Maybe our timelines did split, maybe the world did end back in 2012 and we're all just in a different reality. LOL

Here is a video basically explaining what it is, and how it could be possible. Let me know what you think in the comments, make sure to upvote and follow me!

Sort:  

One of the greatest men...😩

He really was. What do you remember? Him dying in prison or in 2013?

He was released in early 90s. Remember the other anti-aparthied stuff that was going on at the time? The sporting sanctions, trade sanctions and all. I do. I remember the period well. You are a little young to have any valid memory of the period, so what you know is what you have heard. No, we did not think he died in prison at the time. There was a song, Free Nelson Mandela, that was very popular in 1984.

The Mandela effect is an excuse for bad education and poor memory, nothing more.

This post has received a 34.09 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @beccaboomm. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

Mandela Effect is just the most de-bunkable conspiracy theory that ever existed. I know. Look at the "effect" that has suddenly made Canberra the capital of Australia! Or introduced those weird flying fox fruit bats to the world! Except - I live in Canberra and we see flying foxes a lot. So, debunk 1 popular myth. I could keep going on the geological changes that have supposedly occurred, but let's move on.

Looney TUNES - Tunes is only pronounced Toons in the US. In English speaking countries it is pronounced TYUNES. I was definitely Looney Tyunes. Toon Town came out of Roger Rabbit in the mid 80s.

Find physical evidence of the spelling changes, should not be a problem. Most are US products and do not affect the rest of the world, so a US thing? Or just bad education?

And as for the namesake, why if Mandela died in 1983 was a song released in 1984, that charted all over the world "Free, Neldon Mandela"?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66103.77
ETH 3554.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.11