You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I need a new computer

in #blog8 years ago

If you want something decent for games and photoshop get a pc with an i5 or i7 and throw in a GTX1060 Or 1070. I would do 16gb of Ram, but 8 will get you by and make sure you get dual channel memory. If you really want a decent budget pc get a i3 7100 or 7300 and throw in a GTX 1050TI. You can also wait for AMD Ryzen 5 which should be out in less than a week or Ryzen7 now if you want something higher end. I get away with Adobe lighroom for my photos along with the open source program gimp. You can also check out nik collection(photo editing) from google they used to charge $150 for it but now its free

Sort:  

Thank you so much for this information! I will definitely go for 16gb of ram this time and go for i5 or i7 (i3 would be a downgrade).
I've been using Krita as a Photoshop replacement, but it doesn't handle the raw format well. The Lightroom and Photoshop combination was perfect for that. I'm going to check out this Nik collection thing. Hadn't heard of that before!

Your biggest help will be the video card, GTX1070 has 8GB of ram built in and a 1060 has a 6gb version I would go with over the 3gb version

Ooh great! I will definitely check that out. Keeping in mind the built in ram. Thank you so much :D

Software-wise, have you tried Darktable for photo edits? It's a digital darkroom software similar to Adobe Lightroom, but free. I use it all the time. I also like digiKam, but it has its quirks.

Hmm I never heard of either of them. Darktable seems to be a linux thing, so I'll have to check how to use it for Windows. I will start with checking out DigiKam!
Thanks for the suggestions :D

Oh, I just assumed you were using Linux because you mentioned many of the software that was originally made for Linux. :) (Krita, Gimp)

Not betting Darktable works on Windows at all as they've targeted Linux and OSX only, but there is something called LightZone that also works in Windows.

The people behind digiKam on the other hand say this about Windows:

"Be careful as digiKam is not as stable under Windows as under Linux because of some bugs in the underlying KDE Software Collection libraries that digiKam depends on."

I knew Gimp was for Linux, but seeing as it was free and also edited for Windows, I figured I'd give it a shot. I didn't know Krita was originally for Linux... I like it, because it has all the shortcuts I was used to from Photoshop!

It's a logical assumption to make that I was using Linux! :-)

I'll check out LightZone aswell. I tried digiKam yesterday and so far, it's working fine. I see some things I was used to from Lightroom and I'm just exploring all the options. I liked doing finishing touches in Photoshop, but I'll do without that for now.

DigiKam atleast helps me work on the pictures that were gathering dust, so I'm very happy about that, thank you so much!

here's a first try. Used a special effect thingy on this, but that was the best I could get out of an otherwise mediocre image :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62152.13
ETH 2441.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65