Musings of a 23 year old.

in #blog7 years ago


I guess you can call this a journal? I just want to get the words out from my mind


somemusic to set the mood

Hey..


An average American spends more than 50 minutes on social media a day. I guess the number is the same almost anywhere else. Ever since I got on here I've been increasing my time engaged on social media in general while pulling down my engagement time on other social media. You know, the big 4.

But prior to this I have always been a content consumer, constantly wanting to get that dopamine fix by liking and upvoting the next post. Time spent with no valuable output from my effort. Its wrong, but do I know better?

At least now I do. I may still be burying my head on the phone (like now, on esteem) or on the laptop. But now I get an incentive to be a content producer. Something that takes much much more effort but gives way more reward at the end. I still crave for that next dopamine hit. But now to get them I have to put in effort 7 days in advance. Delayed gratification, the building block of a successful person.

I've been finding myself lacking more and more an asset I need so much now, time. 4 months ago I had all the time in the world. Jobless, no motivation, watch bootleg drama all day doing nothing. How I wish I can trade or store my free time and use them in time of need.

Yea, I've been struggling to handle my time in between the professional obligations, self-development, Steemit, and other things I park under "miscellaneous". Maybe it's as simple as the fact that I may not be using my time wisely. Either that or I still lack discipline.

My original plan was to make a post on Steemit every day. But after a while I've come to realize that making good quality content isn't easy. The most experienced content maker still takes anywhere from 4-6 hours to make a simple post. I know, I asked them myself.

If a successful blogger takes that much time for a content, how then, much more time I need to make something half as good? I simply need to step up my game and learn along the way.

If you've read this far you'd realize this isn't such "quality" post I have in mind. I'm not putting too much effort on editing. This is just me typing non-stop pouring my soul out for all to see on the blockchain. If you don't like it, I'm sorry to had to endure this. If you do tho, thank you so much. I'd like to have a chat with you over coffee one day.






thanks to @mightymicke for this amazing themehe made. You can get the source too by checking him out.

I'm @awesomianist

Stay Awesome.

Sort:  

I agree, it takes a long time to make quality posts. However, I do think that if you constantly practice and keep making posts to the best of your current abilities, you will start to improve and get better, which will eventually help you get to where you want to be. All good writers just practiced a lot of writing. Even if it is not the best work, I believe that as long as you are consistent, you will improve.

Consistency is as important as quality, though do not imply each other but are related. I really bank on the assumption that with my consistent effort, that i can see improvements in my work. Even if just by 0.1% !

I agree with you. It's why i have the initial plan to post everyday. I guess it's a learning point. Im not giving up tho!

Hey, are you are a mind reader? Cause that's what I think to myself too. I quit my job to take care of my baby when he was born. You would think I have all the time in the world after kissing corporate life goodbye, but there's never enough time. Every night, I'd ask myself: what have I accomplished today? What will I accomplish tomorrow? What are my non-negotiables? Self discipline is the hardest skill to master, and the most needed when you're a free bird.

Self discipline is the hardest skill to master, and the most needed when you're a free bird.

You are absa-absolutely right there. And yes.. I ask myself those questions too! At times the answers to those question hurt us when we realize we unperformed on our expectation.

Yeah I know what you mean. Over-expect and under-praise - we are hardest on ourselves aren't we?

I really think we have the same mind..

Nice music on this one. Awesome blog post. Upvoted & Followed :)

great post! and don't stress you are so self-aware for one so young- you will have a great life!

Congratulations @awesomianist! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Takes a long time to make good posts. If you practice and keep making posts you improve and get better.

All good writers practice a lot of writing.

I believe that as you practice as you will improve :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62768.63
ETH 2678.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56