My Life's Journey - How I had the best dream ever and almost burned down the kitchen day? lolsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

time-is-money-1339781_1920.jpg

I woke up this morning and I attended my morning routines. The usual stuff.I washed my teeth, 1-hour meditation session, made myself my morning veggie, fruit, and seeds shake, responded to comments on Steemit, and went for my first of two basketball practices on this Thursday. I came back home at 1 pm and prepared myself a mushroom risotto lunch which was delicious by the way. And, sometimes when I feel the need to take some extra rest before the afternoon practice which is about 3-4 hours from that point, I take a power nap.

2017-10-23-21-23-29.jpg

Just relaxing 40-60 min nap to reboot my systems and clean my "engines" a bit. Usually, I don't let myself go into a deep sleep mode because when I wake up, I am very sluggish and without energy. So what I always do is set up my alarm to wake me up. So I don't oversleep. But, this time for some reason I choose to ignore the alarm. When it sounded off, I quickly snoozed it and kept on sleeping.

The reason why I kept on sleeping was that I was having the best dream ever. And, I kid you not guys, I truly believe I was there. It was one REAL dream. I was on the beach in Croatia, listening to the sounds of the ocean, and feeling the calming sensation of the Adriatic sea breeze. If you don't know by now I am a big fan of the sea or the ocean. Someday I will have a house right next to the ocean or the sea. But let's get back to my dream.

IMG_20170422_152707.jpg

So there I am enjoying the gifts of the ocean and beach, while suddenly I started smelling something good. Like somebody was cooking something on the beach and it smelled delicious. My thoughts were, hey why not? The amazing sea, beautiful beach, and food. Bring it on. Can this DREAM get any better? Well, maybe yes with a beautiful lady next to me, but let's keep it "REAL" guys. Enough is enough. Let's not get too greedy here. lol

The first time I heard the smell it was delicious. Man whatever that was, I wanted it. But strangely in my dream, there was no one around me. Just me, ocean, and the beach. So where did the smell come from? I decided to ignore it for a while. But, soon the smell had a bit of a burning smell to it. Not even close to a pleasant smell from before. I was thinking hey whoever is cooking you better go and check on your food before you burn it. And, I continued with my dream, the sea hitting the rocks, the sun started to come down creating amazing and beautiful scenery in front of my eyes. I didn't want to wake from this DREAM.

But, soon the smell became so strong I could not ignore it more. Whoever was cooking burned that dish to a crisp, and was about to burn down the kitchen with it. And, then REALITY hit me, guys. The idiot who was cooking was me!!!! Last night before I went to sleep I left chickpeas for soaking and decided to cook them after my lunch today and eat them for dinner.Do you see where I am going with this? lol

After the lunch, I drained the chickpeas and put a lot of water in the pot, and I left them to cook while I take my nap. If you don't know chickpeas take a long time to cook. About 70min. The alarm I set was for the timing of when the chickpeas to be done. The alarm I snoozed off left the chickpeas cooking for additional 30 minutes, in which water evaporated and started to burn the chickpeas and the pot.

2018-01-12-12-00-42.jpg

So when I finally snapped from my dream, I raced to the kitchen. I think I have not ran so fast on the basketball court jet, as I did on Thursday. Once I opened my room door the whole living room was covered with white smoke. I mean thick fog kind of smoke. lol I went straight to the kitchen were smoke was even ticker. Took off the pot from the stow. The bottom of the pot was completely burned and the chickpeas that were on the bottom were burned to a crisp. lol

I started laughing so hard when I saw the pot and the white cloud of smoke behind me. Laughing at the crazy Croatian I am. lol I was happy the kitchen did not go up in flames of course. But, I thought to myself, you idiot and your stupid beach in Croatia almost burned the kitchen and entire apartment complex in Italy. I can already see the newspaper title:

The front page of the newspaper plastered with it. Extra, extra - read all about it. lol

---- "Crazy Croatian basketball player burned the building down attempting to cook chickpeas." ---

Guys, I was so lucky. I could have literally burned the kitchen and the entire apartment complex here in Italy from it. Somebody out there is definitely looking after me. No doubt in my mind. But, whoever it is please wake me up sooner next time. lol So here are my chickpeas after I rinsed them. Not all of them burned, but of course, the ones close to the bottom burned all the way.

2018-01-12-12-00-02.jpg

For my punishment, I decided I am going to eat not burned ones and half-burned ones. lol I made a "great" burned chickpeas, veggies(tomatoes, onions, avocado, salad, black olives) and salad bowl. lol It actually was not too bad. As I put a lot of vinegar, spices, and olive oil in it. So it covered up the burned taste a bit. But, I believe a very well deserved punishment don't you think?

This was one close call. And, I am laughing about it now as so are the teammates I am living with. As they smelled it as well while they rested. But, this could have gone a whole different way no doubt. So my advice to you my amazing Steemians is if in your perfect dream you start smelling weird burning smoke, please check you didn't leave chickpeas cooking on the stow. lol

Thank you for reading, I hope my " cooking expertize" story brought a smile on your face, have an amazing day, much love,

dbjegovic

2017-09-29-22-51-45.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue #17 (1/15/18)

The STEEM Engine is an initiative dedicated to promoting meaningful engagement across Steemit. Find out more about us and join us today!

Hey man, I remember you from Rabadaba. Good to see you on here. Thanks for the visit today.

First thing I would do is run out to the store and get a couple of smoke and CO2 detectors. This could be a wake up call for you! Of course CO2 cannot be smelled.

Your welcome my friend. I remember you as well. We actually helped each other a lot on rabadaba. I saw your name and decided to drop by and say hi. :)

Either install the smoke detectors or stop taking naps. lol Either way, I can't let this happen again. I got off easy this time. :)

Thank you for stopping by. I am following you now so you will probably see me a lot more in your comment section. Have a great day. :)

The veggies damn near killed you, that is why I don't do veggies. I can with reasonable certainty say that I will never burn a pot of chick peas because I would never cook them.
Glad it didn't turn out worse for you though, the smoke could have done you in as well.

hehe dying from cooking veggies story coming in the next edition of this post. lol The title: DEADLY VEGGIES. :)

I am glad I woke in time before they caught on fire. I could have been very bad. As I live in a big apartment complex which is connected to other buildings. But it didn't and now I can go back to my dream and bring a lady with me next time so she can attend to chickpeas while I lay down on the beach. lol

Have an amazing day, my friend. Thank you for reading. :)

Close call but at least seems the loss of chickpeas wasn’t too big. Wonder if they would have made for a good hummus still.

Glad nothing more happened tho and good there’s SBD to replace pots. :D

They would actually be great for hummus and they are my favorite ingredient for making it. They cooked very well, but some of them just didn't survive my dream. lol

hehe you are exactly right. On the positive side, this post might buy me a new pot. lol Way to go positive about it. lol Thank you, my friend :)

Oh my! I bet you will never get that pot to be shiny again! Glad the pot was the only causality!

It was an old pot. I actually cleaned it, but will probably go buy a new one. lol

Hey, you and I both are glad only pot got worst of it and chickpeas. it could off gone very much different...

Have an amazing day :)

This is a great way to start my day. It is currently morning here in the Philippines and I'm on my way to the university. 😂

Have an amazing day at the University, my friend. I am glad you enjoyed my post. :)

Despite all of that, I think you are probably still a better cook than me. Although I haven't burned any kitchens down, so I'm still doing okay. Must have been tough, having to choose between laying on that beach, or saving your apartment. Seems you made the right decisions though.

As long as you don't oversalt and over-spice, and burn the food you are a good cook. And, of course, not burn down the kitchen like I almost did. lol

I think if I had a beautiful lady with me in my dream I would probably burn the chickpeas and the kitchen and stayed in my dream. lol

Lol - too funny! Glad you woke up. That definitely could have gone differently had you not woken up when you did. Half burned chick peas sounds...tasty. ;) Ha. Nice punishment. I made chick peas today too. Roasted chick peas as our snack. They are so yummy!! :) Crunchy and a few spices on them. Yum! My kids even love them. So much so that none of us get very many because everyone wants some! Splitting anything with 7 people isn't always fun... Glad you're alive.

hahah nice punishment it is. It actually was not too bad, but with every bite, I was telling myself ***you beach dreaming idiot. lol

I absolutely love chickpeas. They are on my plate at least 2 times per week. Love making salads with them. They are incredibly healthy and full of everything. Plus they taste amazing. It really does not get much better than that. :)

I had a hard time sharing with my 2 brothers, but 7 is a whole another level. I think I would have fork wars all the time in your family. You know whoever has the fastest fork movement gets to eat more. lolol

Lol - That is true. My kids do have some foods that they fight over. Pizza is one of them (like tonight we had Dominos)! They also love these, but I put each kids' chick peas in their own bowl. I used to eat at a place where chick peas were a salad topping and I forget about that. I need to keep some handy to add to my salads! Good thought. Lol - you're funny, you beach dreaming idiot. ;) Lol

Well, it can get free for all sometimes I bet with 7 kids. lol :) But I am sure your a great "boss" and get them all in order soon. :)

They are amazing for salads because they add some amazing taste plus they are incredibly well-rounded food. You have everything in them. Protein, carbs, vitamins, minerals. You name it is in there. They are on my menu at least 1 time week or more. :)

Yep, that is me beach dreaming idiot who almost burned down the apartment. lol

Yes, 5 kids, 7 total people in the home. ;) And a dog. And 2 cats. I got out some chick peas to soak here in a bit. May make some more tomorrow. Usually I just use a can of them, but I could probably start soaking, cooking and having them ready when I need them (either freeze or fridge and use soon). :) A salad sounds good. We just had pancakes for dinner... ;)

Well, when you used can ones they are full of sodium and other things which should not be in there to preserve them from going bad. Not saying it is totally unhealthy or something. Just rinsed them very good after taking them out of the can.

I actually ate cans until about 2 months. I found it convenient to come home from practice and open a can and some veggies and have a meal. But, now I only eat them if prepare, cook them. I just have to plan a bit ahead and that is all :)

lolol salad sounds good but we had pancakes for dinner... lolol :)

You really do make me laugh. Thank you!!! lol.

Lol - yes, I'm really bad about preparing anything ahead of time. I sort of start getting ready for dinner around 5 and we eat at 6. ;) That's why the cans come in handy and I do rinse the beans.

Oh my goodness!! And the post started off so well with the delicious mushroom risotto :) So glad that you woke up! Lesson learned :)

That risotto was truly delicious. Probably one of the reasons I had such a great dream. Damn risotto. lol

I am glad I woke up as well no matter how hard it was. Not easy waking up from such a dream. Lesson learned indeed. :)

Reminds me of my recent beach time. Nice warm sea breezy lazy days.... If I could control my dreams I'll take a visit again.

I'm surprised anything survived at all! Maybe the unburned ones were extra delicious.
And if I squint a little it looks like blueberry pie filling.

I love the ocean, and every time I am at the beach somewhere I am the happiest guy there. It has such a calming and relaxing atmosphere. :)

I was surprised as well. But I guess the bottom ones provided the protection for the others. Chickpeas teamwork and sacrifice. lol And, I got to admit the ones which did not burn actually tasted pretty good. Like barbecued kind of flavor. Not bad at all considering what happened. lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 62939.93
ETH 3116.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89