The Art of Elaborating Sentences

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

WeChat Image_20181026161309.jpg

I remembered a while ago, someone once asked me, “Tell me something you’re good at, anything will do”
I ponder upon the question and respond,
“Anything? Elaborating sentences.”

Now although it sounds pretty simple, elaborating sentences has always been part of my life since my freshman years back in 2011, it is a skill that I learnt in my previous university majoring in English, and I have brought it with me when I study business and marketing in China. It gave me the skills to execute copywriting for various companies because most of the time I was given very little words, and I need to elaborate them for overseas marketing purposes.

Discovery and exercise elaboration of sentence

In my university years, we always have projects and reports that require us to reach at least a certain number of words. One of the reports we had made a significant impact to me because it was so challenging; it caused a spurt of growth to my writing skills. I remembered very well that during that time I was 800 words short from the 3000 words target. The paper was rather academic, so it is not a space for Creative Writing. I had to turn my personal story into a case analysis and support it with theories from various academic papers. I started with one theory, and elaborate it 3 similar theories, then I need to break down some parts of the case and use certain keywords to correlate them. Creating analysis of “what if this” and “what if that happen”.

A free demonstration and exercise

Anyone can practice this since it is beneficial to steemit writing, especially when one ran out of ideas and inspiration.
For instance, let’s pick a random topic, My chat groups.

Topic: My Chat Groups

Key points to talk about your chat group, are they interesting? Boring? Do you chat with everyone everyday? Are you the chatterbot or more like an observer? Are you the one who responds “Ok”, “Okay” or “K”

Example:

Paragraph 1

I use Wechat. My chat groups are rather boring. I don’t chat with everyone. Sometimes I’m a chatterbot, most times I prefer to read. I always respond “ok”.

Now it is time to elaborate then 5 sentence structure to longer sentences.

Paragraph 1: edited

I use Wechat a lot, mostly it is because Whatsapp and other messeging apps are banned in China. My chat groups are rather boring, there isn’t a lot of conversation around until someone decides to throw money packets around for a special occasion. I prefer to be an observer because I treat the chat groups like a news column, I will only voice out if I need to ask something. Among “Ok”, “Okay” or “K”, it depends on who I’m talking to, most of the time I will respond “Ok”. I personally think that people who respond “K” are too lazy, so if someone texted me “K” , I usually text back “L,M,N,O,P…”

So that is all for the simple demonstration, as you can see I elaborated a short paragraph into a longer one . So anyone can try! Now elaborating sentences is just one of the skills I have. I usually write about life in Beijing so I hope that you enjoyed this somewhat educational post.

---That's all from me, see you next time---
Reena.K


SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

Since I am one of those layman your professor remarked about I just had to comment. There really is an art to bullshitting and it is much easier to do verbally; but I must say that you are quite the talent at taking a small cow patty and spreading it out really well. So well in fact, that I making you an honorary Texan for this great display of written bullshitting.

So without any power vested in me by the state of Texas, or the Republic of Texas, I here now proclaim that by the great display of written word @asiannetwork , AKA Reena K, is hereby and will forever hold the title of "Honorary Texan". So it done this day, October 27th of the year 2018.
Congratulations cowgirl.

lol! well, bullshitting does require skills and lots of practice to become an expert. I'm honored to be granted the Honorary Texan. Especially since texas is known for barbecues too!

Thank a lot! lots of love across the ocean 🤗

Back at you, Tex!

Hey Reena, nice to see you pop back into TSE and that you are doing well in Beijing. This was a great post and well done.
Yours,
Eagle Spirit

that's very kind of you, things were quite busy for me for the past few months and i couldn't spend a lot of time on steemit. Glad that you drop by my post. Thank you

i bet, feels
like youve been gone for 5 months hahah
glad you are well.

Elaboration in your writing is a good skill to have. It sure makes the text more interesting to read as well,so it is something steemit users should try as well! Thanks for sharing!

yes, indeed. Elaborating sentences help you to double up the number of words, then it take skills and technique to control the comtent so they don't go off topic.

So alluring and engaging :)

I never realized there was a name for this - I do it when talking all the time (although my family says it's the art of turning a short conversation into a long one...lol!). Thanks for the quick & awesome demonstration! 😊

that sounds academic =) my marketing professor is way direct though, he will just tell us that we come to his class to learn "The art of BullS**ing" 😂 which is quite true is layman's term.

Interesting concept. You would make a great news anchor or radio presenter who has to cover for someone at the last minute! So stairway to heaven is up next ......

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Hello very interesting article elaborate sentence is really a problem for me but the more i write article and interact on steemit the more i improve myself:)

yup, just practice more but do not go off topic. I always try to control my steemit blogs within 600 words for a simple topic because the time span of ppl reading it. We don't want something too long

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 294 (10/27/18)

Great examples on showing the writing skills. No wonder you can write so good!

I still got lots to learn. This post goes on to show that we do not need complicated vocabularies to write an article, we just need people to understand it in the simplest manner 😁

Thanks for reading my post

My pleasure my dear!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63248.94
ETH 2576.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85