Things parents say to their kids that are pure lies.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blog7 years ago

Staring at the computer will give you square eyes

DIABETES-455988.jpg

My Mum and Dad used to tell me this as a kid and as I got to about 9 years old I figured it a lie as my dad would come home from work and sit in front of the tv from 6 till he went to bed and never had square eyes. Why is there one rule for one and one for another? I think they just wanted the TV for themselves.

Santa is coming to bring you presents

This has to be the biggest heart breaker of all times, you think that Santa comes to your house and brings you presents just to find out that your mum and dad put them out before bed. when I found out I was devastated to the point where I wouldn't talk to my mum and dad. Finding this out made me question life. (don't get me started on the easter bunny)

Your cat went to live on a farm

I know protecting our kids is one thing but death is a part of life to find out something we love has died is upsetting but learning at a young age is what makes us strong as we get older. my cat got run over and my parents told me he had gone to a farm as he needed space to run around, then I was told by a girl in my school her dad had hit him with their car. (the word gutted comes to mind)

*Changing words in songs

The funny thing is my dad tried to change the words to shelter me and my brother from the word sex his favorite singer/artist at the time was George Michael and this was 1987 with the song -I want your sex.
As we are driving on holiday he would put the same song on over and over again and as he would sing a way (very badly) he would say socks. Did he think me and my brother was stupid, we bought him the fucking tape.

If you lie your nose will get bigger

1200x630bb.jpg

Well if this was true my parents would have right Concord noses just from the list above. Why would anyone's nose grow from a lie, but it was believable growing up after watching Pinocchio.

summery

So telling lies is bad and my parents were probably trying to keep me and my brother from the horrors of this world but it's probably the reason I have to pay my therapist £100's a month. maybe little white lies don't hurt any one but I tell my kids the truth when they ask as I think this is the best for both of us.

all pictures pixabay.

drew.jpg

Sort:  

Nice work, i hope you grow fast on steemit :)
Upvoted and ReSteemed...

Hahaha!! This is so funny, and totally true as well.

There's also, if the wind changes your face will stay like that...

The only lie I regularly tell my children is where I am. There will be a shout from somewhere in the house... Muuuuum! Where are you!!!

And I'll shout back in the sitting room! when I'm clearly in the kitchen.

When they don't find me in the sitting room, there will be another shout, Muuuum. C'mon, where are youuuu?

So I'll shout... I've gone upstairs! (while still in the kitchen.)

And so on.

I find it very funny. The kids don't. But you know, parents prerogative haha!

haha, they always ask me what i'm doing and normally I will say baking a cake when I'm quite clearly doing something else. haha I like your fun mind, keep your kids guessing.

Oh I like that one too! Baking a cake!!

Actually I did get the kids to get off their computer games and come down to dinner once by shouting up the stairs I've got a big bag of sweets for you all!.

They'd been ignoring my calling that dinner was on the table, and then when I shouted about the sweets they all appeared immediately as if by magic haha!

I don't think that will work more than once though!

This day of age just turn off the internet, you'll soon see everybody very quick.

Haha! Yeah, the only trouble with that is... then I won't be able to go on my computer! I'm just as bad as the kids!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97