Use Your Charm. The Changes in My Life. (A Story)

in #blog7 years ago


This is one thing that I learned yesterday whilst at the Dubai immigration office for some visa change requirements. But before trying this, there is a more important element that you must not forget:




I had to go to the Dubai immigration office yesterday to request "hold" on my children's visa for which I am the sponsor, while I also process my visa sponsor change.


I reached Dubai at around 12noon, with the mercury rising up to almost 45° C according to Accuweather. However, I was glad to notice that I did not have to search far for parking. I even managed to get one near the gate, which was really unusual. The parking area was always jam-packed!

Never mind. At least I got a nice parking spot. Why else should I complain?!

I went straight to the information counter to check where I needed to go first for my transaction. Fortunately, there was a Filipino at the counter. (Hmmm, this should be easy!)

ME: "Kabayan, magrerequest kasi ako ng "hold" para sa visa ng mga anak ko."

(Kabayan, I want to request to hold my children's visas.)

Kabayan: "Naku, hindi na dito yan pina-process. Duon ka na kailangan magpunta sa may Al Manara Center."

(Oh, they do not process that here anymore. You need to go to the new office at Al Manara Center.)

ME: "Ha?! Saan yun? Pano ko pala ita type yan sa google map?" (I know right, dumbo me needs google map to go anywhere!)

(Huh?! Where is that? How do I type that location in on google map?)

He looked at me as if to confirm that I am really a dumbo, so I said, "Taga Abu Dhabi kasi ako."(I am from Abu Dhabi) As if saying "Probinsyana ako" (I'm from the suburbs.)

So he told me exactly where the office was and asked whether I had the requirements - original passports and new labor contract. WHAT?! Labor contract?! My visa from my current employer is not yet cancelled. How can I have a new labor contract yet?!


Or not really. I just wanted to save time and energy.

So instead of going to the other office that guy at the information desk told me, I went to the "Ladies' Section" that I normally go to when I apply for my children's visa.

I just had to give it a shot. Who knows? I might get lucky and they'd process my application here.

And they did.

A small smile, straight to the point inquiry. That's it. She took my paperwork and processed. She did not even ask for that new labor contract! There was just a letter that she wanted typed in Arabic and that's about it.

Whew! That was close! Imagine if I followed that guy at the front desk. I may have to go back to Abu Dhabi without accomplishing anything..

Now I am really glad I am hard-headed! lol! So time to give myself a treat...



Next stop is to deliver my passport to our head office, then go back home.

Sounds easy.

Or not...


To be continued...



Image Sources: [1] [2] [3]



Sort:  

Glad to hear of your happy ending...at least so far 😉

Yes... me too. It was really a relief! 😆

Gusto ko ung... to be continued... 😂😂

Yeah, I still have to write the continuation. The experience is still very fresh on my mind and legs! lol

Shady yung na-process kahit sabi sayo ni Kabayan ay sa ibang office na pinaprocess. 😅

^ Thata kinda sorta didn't make so much sense lol.

Haha. Government transactions could be shady most of the time.

I skipped the boring part about the requirements and the process itself. But I really had a very interesting time there in that office. Me legs still feel it. Huhu!

This post recieved a vote from @minnowpond. For more information click https://steemit.com/steemit/@minnowpond/boost-your-rewards-with-minnowpond

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by arrliinn from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Sometimes being hardheaded had rewards. :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 66137.20
ETH 3543.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56