Amelia Wheat is back to Steemit! Why am I back? My idea: A post as a forum thread for more meaningful discussion just like bitcointalk!

in #blog7 years ago

It has been 2 months since i last posted comics but received lukewarm response from steemit community :-( Gave up but saw a trending post today which is very promising that I decided to come back! Yes, it is busy.org! Not sure if i should continue posting comics and stuff.

Seems that long posts and casual blogging are the "thing" at steemit. Though I am not entirely sure if this is the right strategy to attract people like you and me to write something.  I am active at bitcointalk forum. It would be wonderful if the forum guys join steemit and talk about crypto stuff and be rewarded. Isn't it great to have another outlet to hang out? (though i suspect not many steem supporters and quite a bit of steem thrashers at bitcointalk forum)


I think it will greatly increase participation and discussion if steemit's frontend were to be more like a forum, more casual and stuff, but could still consist of different thread topics which can attract people to comment and be rewarded. And then valuable and interesting threads can be upvoted based on their discussion and ability to attract comments.

To increase mass participation and accelerated adoption of steem and steem dollars, we need more new users and also retain users like myself! Only then, steem and steem dollars will find their value.

My premise is based on "Valuable social media platform has meaningful interaction, interesting comments, debates and most importantly entertain people.

And so i think steemit can make do good as a forum like bitcointalk, rather than an outlet to blog. I don't know what busy's frontend will be like. Hope it will be good! Looking forward to the public release :-)  What do steemians think?

Sort:  

busy.org is a front-end that will be more like this, well, more like facebook perhaps. Someone is working on a Q&A type site like stackoverflow, someone is even working on using steem as a platform for a scientific peer review platform.

Steemit is really more or less Ned's idea of a reddit killer. For this reason you may not be surprised to learn that they are planning to raise the payouts in comments to take 38% of the total rewards paid to commenters. This altered payout scale will also make the Q&A type sites work better and also the facebook/forum style front ends. I guess you might say steemit.com at present most resembles a straight up news weblog.

Busy is in closed alpha at the moment (I have a login but I haven't checked it out due to not having a pc for a while) and I don't know what the other projects are doing.

Thanks for the great info and reply! Really appreciate it but my upvote gave you 0 payout :(

I think it will do more good to increase payouts for interacting, commenting and discussing. Human contact and interaction is important in social media platforms especially if steemit wants to claim a space of the social media market which i believe is crucial to attract users, rather than blogging....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80