You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blogging, Social Media... and Steemit's "Coming of Age?"

in #blog6 years ago (edited)

And they say there are no coincidences. I was reading about @stevescoins Halloween contest. Your blog was a resteem. It asked a question I've been thinking about. Why am I here?

I looked at your list and really didn't see one that described my motivation. I like Steemit because it is less political than Twitter, and less tribal. It is less grasping (intrusive) than Facebook. Less commercial than Linked in. Certainly less public than Instagram. Having a blog, which I did for years, is satisfying, but not as dynamic and is more self-absorbed.

Steemit's not perfect, but after a while I learned how to look for stuff that interested me. If you can't find something interesting here, you can't find it anywhere. As long as my interest was genuine, I was able to connect with people who were interested in what I had to write. And I love to write. So Steemit has become a kind of laboratory for developing and discovering ideas. Again, it's not perfect. Certainly the rewards are not fairly distributed. That can be discouraging. But I've been in jobs where rewards were not distributed fairly either. That's life.

Now, to get back to @stevescoins Halloween Contest. This is a perfect illustration of why I'm here. I've written a story. He's willing to read it. Maybe I'll get a prize and maybe I won't. He's tied his story in with @calluna's tellastorytome contest. I know she'll read my story and give me feedback. Again, dynamic. A laboratory for creativity. I learned about @stevescoins because I wrote a couple of things for @calluna. And I learned about @calluna because I've written stuff for @f3nix's finishthestory contest. And I learned about that because... you see what I mean? Dynamic.

That's why I'm on Steemit. And there's always the chance that my account actually might be worth something someday.

As far as promoting content goes--I wouldn't get involved. I hope my account and my presence grow organically here. That would be gratifying.

Hope I didn't go longer than you wanted. Thanks for asking :)

Sort:  

it used to be a lot more like this dynamic here on Steem...good days for sure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 62678.63
ETH 3015.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49