My 2018: Achievements and Failures - How i overcome struggles of Motherhood

This year is a special to me as i had my second child which i named michael. All my pregnancy was not easy, on my first one i was diagnosed with gestational Diabetes from the second trimester (4 months) till my last trimester of pregnancy. This global disease runs in my family and is commonly strikes among pregnant women.

Failures, Disappointment and Struggles

It was hard, i have to change my diet, It is not i am eating lots of sweets stuff, i am not in to sweets, It is because i have to lessen my carbohydrate intake. In the Philippines, our staple food is (white) rice and is important to us, we eat it everyday and that is no good for a person suffering diabetes. (I usually eat more rice when i like my viand). I have to make sacrifices, alter my diet and choose low carb foods. I learned to discipline myself with my food intake, to be honest, i was impressed with what i can do to improved my blood sugar and it paid off!

image

I was opting for a normal delivery for my pregnancy but unfortunately, i just can’t, I am small lady (4 feet and 11 inches) for a large baby. That was another failure for me, but i learned to look in to the bright side and be kind to myself, after all having a major surgery is a no joke with all pains and long recovery. I have overcome my disappointments and fears. I triumphantly delivered a very healthy baby thru cesarean operation. Mind you, i was awake during the entire surgery, i can feel sensation but i can’t feel pain if that makes sense.

Greatest Achievements

My greatest achievement was when i saw my baby (Michael) few seconds after they took him from my womb. It was a magical achievement of heart and soul. I kissed his tiny toes and the nurse made michael kissed my cheeks, the emotions was beyond words!

image image

Challenges and Triumph

After the effects of local anesthesia they administer vanished, the pains starts to come. It was an incredible pain, especially the first get up/waking up from the bed after surgery from a 16 hours of recovery phase. Pain was hard as hell! I went to the washroom and it was the longest walked i ever had in my life, eventually the pain lessens day by day.

It was worth every pain i had seeing my baby.

Another challenge of motherhood for me was breastfeeding after major surgery. I thought i couldn’t make it due to pain from surgery, but mother’s determinations always win. I won!

image

Now i have lots of golds (milk) for michael, a rewarding achievement of my life and motherhood.

Reflections

Sometimes, some things can’t be controlled, but let nature take its course. Let determinations and sacrifices be your achievement. Don’t see failures as a bad thing, it should be another way of learning and accepting.

image

(My eldest, Robbie)
image

Thank you for reading.


This post is made for the @blocktradescontest by @nomadsoul. Thank you so much for this heart-warming initiative.


image


image

Sort:  

Howdy!
I've upvoted your post
it's just a small upvote, but I hope it will serve to help you and the steem community to grow ;)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sherylneil from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Hi @sherylneil!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.742 which ranks you at #13052 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 184 contributions, your post is ranked at #137.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Have a child always it is a blessing... over comes all the pain and become full happiness.. well I am talking by myself...

Indeed, always a beautiful blessing :)
Thanks for coming by. Happy holidays!

What a sweet baby! And such a sweet post from an awesome MAMA! You got everything you need and holding that little bundle of joy is a miracle. Good job mama <3

Indeed @foxyspirit. Grateful and blessed. Thank you for dropping by. X

What a wonderful achievement.... we can feel such guilt as mothers but wow, look at the great job you did xx

Thank you so much. This message means a lot :)
Its a wonderful feeling. Xx

Congratulations on your achievement 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63470.48
ETH 2544.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72