You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Blockchain Music Challenge Season 2 - Round 2!

in #blockchainmusic5 years ago (edited)

I didn't realise the prizes were so big too, what an awesome surprise! I've powered everything up that I received and psytrance? You bet I'll be entering this one too! I'll forward this over into EMA Discord 😀

Thanks for this contest!

Sort:  

Awesome! Hope to hear some more track entries from EMA artists 👍

I think we will my friend 💪

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome! I will be on the lookout for another great entry. :D Keep em coming!

Ok, it's not quite the genre I thought it was but I still love this kind of music! I had to learn some more production techniques that I had no idea about but today I've made great inroads to a track that hopefully will be classed as Psytrance (but with a Havey twist) :D

The next day or two hopefully will upload it to Choon and DSound :)

Awesome can't wait to listen! :D

Haha that's funny @nickyhavey ..absolutely the same happened to me :)). I learned that it's more Goa or Trance what I like and not really Psytrance - I also had to learn some new things and I'm still not sure if my track will be classified as Psytrance - hehe ;) - I am very curious how your track will sound....lol.. and mine when finished ;)

Haha seems we're in the same boat with this and last week @psionic-tremors 😁 I am looking forward to hearing your take on it too! Please tag me in your post so I can listen in!

Posted using Partiko Android

Psytrance covers such a wide load of styles, I think it will be hard to go wrong :0)
Definitely when you mention Goa. 20 years ago, it was all called Goa-trance. Fast, slow(er), psychedlic, melodic or dark - it was all Goatrance. Over the years, the style was labeled psytrance, and all the different sub-genres were 'created'. Goatrance is still one of those sub-genres, often labeled as 'psychedelic', or, here in Belgium, known as 'old school'. It's still pretty popular, over here, at least.

Can't wait to hear your track...

Hi @simplymike - thanks for your comment!
When I started my track and went to google just to make sure that I'm in the right genre I've learned that psytrance does not cover many styles, but that the typical bassline is the rolling bass. That means that the kick is followed by 3 16th notes, what makes the "galopp" beat. One can hardly believe how many youtube videos are commented on, that it is not psytrance. For tracks that I thought was psytrance.
Now that I'm almost done and struggling really hard with this gallop beat, I find out that somehow everyone has a different opinion, what the difference is between Psytrance and Goa..haha.

Too bad that you have not commented earlier ;), which led me to read again, what makes Psytrance exactly. In any case, I would have made a completely different and easier track (for me) - haha.

Well, at least that's how I learned something new :)
PS: I think my track will be up tomorrow :)

In my experience, the rolling bass is used often, but is definitely not a requirement.

When I first read this post and was talking to @nickyhavey about what psytrance really was (it's not easy when you're not a producer to use the exact words) I bumped into this site that actually gives a good rundown of the styles, although it uses a different vocabulary than the one I'm used to.

http://psytranceguide.com

I see you've posted your track below. Curious to hear the end result :0)

Thanks my friend! One of my favourite genres here 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57808.87
ETH 3061.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33