You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 04/18/18> “LEAVE !!!!”

Ahahahahaha! 2.33 services? Nice record. I was the black sheep of the family church wise, at least until my brother got old enough to take his share of the load...

We didn't have altar boys or acolytes, but we did have ushers. I volunteered early and everybody was relieved that I might not be on the highway to hell, as it were.

There was a reason: About 20 minutes in we collected the offering. I could slide out for a solid 30 minutes during the rest of the service long as I was back in time for the finale. Perfect.

I'm pretty sure being an usher kept me from being tossed for several years.

Thanks for a wonderful post. And congratulations to your daughter. I actually remember the confirmation process as a hard detail.

Sort:  

Thanks Tom. As part of the confirmation process they have to write a paper on what the church means to them. There is a board that has four people who read the papers and the board selects from over the 100 papers, three to be read by the writer during the church service. Her's was selected by the board for her to read. The board member who notified her that hers was selected said that the entire board was in tears after reading her paper. Blondie isn't big on public speaking, even though she does it with girl scouts, so she politely informed the board this week that she would be declining the offer and for them to select another to replace her.
When the board member she informed asked her why, she said, "this should be a joyous occasion, if the whole board was in tears reading it, I don't want the whole church crying because of me if I read it out loud in church."
She then just smiled and said, "besides, there are several others that are hoping to be chosen to read their's; this will give at least one the opportunity."
She just knows how to ...

Your Blondie sounds like a real special girl mr Papper!

She is, and I'm not just saying that because I am her "father", as she calls me, all the other kids call me "dad", but she has always called me father since she learned how to pronounce the word.
We get compliments from people all the time on how great a kid she is and how caring she is with others.

That's quite a kid. Makes me proud just to be a human.

Thanks. She has a big heart.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 63566.44
ETH 2483.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67