You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 360 STEEM + 40 Bonuses ~ Sponsored Writing Contest: Chimaera

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

It seems there is a game play here...... I always check the winners of this @originalorks contest everytime.......when I checked the result the last time, to my surprise, I saw the same set of winners. It seems the winners are always some set of people, position being rotated among this same set of people for every week.
People like @mjo @nicholas83 @stojay007 @averageoutsider @dedicatedguy @ced000
to confirm this, check all the contest results from the start..... You will find out that this same set of people have being the 1 rotating the results position within themselves.

Am sorry for this, but I want other participants to notice this. This is just my observation. Thank you

Sort:  

For what it's worth, for my first 3 articles I put in a lot of effort to read previous competition articles and try to understand what they were looking for, I ended up getting 7th, 7th, and 2nd in those first 3. They didn't know who I was before that, I was a new account trying to get started. I can at least attest that there wasn't any kind of shady underhanded dealings going on. If it was an inner circle kind of situation I don't know why they would randomly scoop me up and not ever mention it to me.

After those first 3, the next 2 articles I submitted were well written, but you could tell I didn't put the same time/effort into them because my life was just too busy at the time. I ended up in the 1 STEEM bonus category and did not rank on those two. Since then, I've been able to put a significant amount of time/effort into most of my posts and I've found my ranking tends to correlate with my time/effort/understanding of each individual competition.

As someone who has had some success lately, I can at least confirm that there has been no communication or collusion between contest promoters and those who often win. If it's helpful, I can outline how I go about writing so you can evaluate if there's any useful part of my process you can implement yourself. I always read the @originalworks post carefully, then I review the ICO website clicking on every tab/link they have. I usually end up going through all the pages several times. Then, I read the entire whitepaper (and any other papers they have). Then, I reread any parts of the whitepaper that I think would make for good contest content. Then, I check out all the social avenues the ICO participates in to see what they're saying to the public (Facebook, Twitter, etc.) as well as their GitHub if it's available to see what kind of requests are being processed if available. Only after I feel like I understand the project well do I begin writing my paper. I often find myself navigating to those sources as I write to double-check things as well. Here's another tricky part though, when I write my goal is for it to be easy enough to read that someone who has never heard of the project can understand it. So, although I've gone quite in depth to understand the ICO I assume the reader knows nothing about it.

I think this is a successful strategy because by having an understanding of the project and it's inner workings, you appeal to the article reviewers at the ICO and they respect your understanding of their work. They also understand that from a purely technical perspective, they could write a more comprehensive article than you could, so your ability to convert that into something for any prospective investor to understand is what creates that extra value. It ends up being a lot of research and work with a resulting article that doesn't read like it's particularly complicated, basically your effort only really shows to people who know the ICO and want it to be appealing to the masses and understand the balance between the technical and the marketable.

If you can accomplish all of that you still need to give it that extra push to separate yourself from the rest though, many people technically meet this criteria every week. So, that's where the parts that are a bit more difficult to articulate in a reply come in. That's where things like originality and creativity come in. If you have real world knowledge of something that relates to the ICO that you can spin into your post that helps! If you have a creative way to present it, that helps too! If you have complimentary skills outside of writing maybe incorporate something extra like a short video or animation that you produce, that helps! Outside of that, after every contest I evaluate what others did differently than what I did to try and determine what tweaks will improve my odds next time around. It's the extra things that can help push you into the top IMO. Hopefully something in here is helpful, I do with you the best!

P.S. When I started writing these I was a little intimidated by the users that seemed to be in the top week after week and wondered if I'd have a shot. I found a couple things about the competition. First, I found out that they were putting in more work than you might think at first (probably for the same reasons I just wrote above) and secondly, they all were very welcoming of new competition and didn't feel entitled to the top. It's really a great community. I think people like @outerground and @ecoinstant can vouch for this (if they happen to notice this post). When I started they were dominant, I believe they've both either stopped or are on hold on these competitions now (outerground just stopped last week I think) but they would always encourage others and recognize those who rose up.

Thanks for sharing this. It's always useful to find out how successful contestants prepare themselves for writing and learn interesting personal stories on how they were getting better each time.
One thing that I agree 100% is that @OriginalWorks contest is honest and unbiased. Every contestant has equal chances to reach the highest place and reward.
This is my third participation. And my first time was when I was a completely new member of Steemit. And my first time ended up with the 1st place. I was a little bit shocked then but I definitely understood that EVERYBODY has the chance to win here.
My second try ended up with 19th place. And a lot of good contestants who usually get the top-10 places ended below 10th place. Then I realized, no matter how good you write, you never know for sure what organizers want to hear about their product and there's no guarantee that somebody won't do that better than you. And to be honest, it is very hard to choose the best from more than 250 submissions with at least half of the authors getting better and better each week. So, you never know if your work will be good enough, 'cause every company (selecting the winners) has its own subjective vision, which work is better.
So, I think, we shouldn't despair for not being chosen among winners but keep working and improving our skills, fixing our mistakes and learn from them. And one day we'll inevitably conquer this "mountain" again.

Hi @salaujohnson.

Users who participate in the contests on an ongoing basis are neither awarded nor punished. The factors considered in making the selections are as follows.

  1. Plagiarism
  2. Grammar
  3. Content
  4. Formatting/Design
  5. Originality/Creativity

There are people who have been participating for a long time and whose writing has drastically improved.

I urge you to continue writing. There are numerous users who were at the bottom but are now landing on the top list. People on the top sometimes fall off as well as the competition gets stiffer. The nature of competitions is that unfortunately not everyone can be a winner. This is why @OriginalWorks has a very generous bonus structure that ensures most participants get something for their efforts.

How about giving bonus to the same guy .??

Stojay007

Hmm.... Well thanks for attending to my complaint. I really appreciate. You have said it all. But why have you not being accepting entry @unprovoked. My last 2 entrys was not accepted. Even my friends do complain that you don't always submit their works. Which automatically deprive them of their chance of being and winner

This is the first time you have submitted an article to any @OriginalWorks contest.

Please let me know what other entries you are speaking of. I will be sure to look into it.

Hello, I left you a message on discord about 1 user copying other people's work. There are probably more but I just discovered one. Please check.

Thanks!

Do you really mean this ?? Am off to confirm this.
Am just about to drop my entry.

Well, so far I have only receive 2 prizes with 2 posts that I believe were of good quality.

And since the winners are decided by the team behind the blockchain project I think these are objective decisions.

as far as am concerned and due to the fact that I confirmed this. Apart from you, check the other names..... You win find out that my observations are correct

Hi,
I think, that if you compare the non-winners with the winners (top 10) you would see that the writing quality of the latter group is very good. That is why they win every time.

And this is very fair; I do not know anyone personally, and still I got 10th prize in my very first attempt last week.

I just confirm this even @antigenx @littlescribe @outsideground and even @machnbirdsparo. Are among those that do win almost every week.
@dedicatedguy 2entry and 2wins do you really want us to believe there is no mischief in this??

I do observe this too but due to the fact that I believe it is the objective decisions of the team behind the blockchain project . And I believe they are doing their best bringing out quality post as winners of the contest. For this, I have put in all my best to bring in a quality post for this week contest. And I hope I am part of the winners.

Different blockchain will give at least a little bit of differences. That's if the winner were not chosen by the same set of people who are biased. Just like the result of lympo.io where @stojay007 collected 3steem bonus, 1steem bonus and even the video bonus. And for a fact @stojay007 always collect the reward for video bonus!!!!!!!

There were only two video submissions. They both received a bonus. Unfortunately a video bonus cannot be rewarded to those who did not submit a video.

The video awards are for original videos and not videos taken from any source related to the blockchain project being written about. I too have noticed that mostly the same people win every week but i believe its because they write real good. I'd try to better them though...you should too.

Pls confirm before you say any thing pls .

Here is the link to his post, tou can check his video.
https://steemit.com/lympo/@stojay007/lympo-will-reward-you-to-generate-and-control-the-flow-of-your-health-data

Sorry Sir but @stojay's video was original, made by him, explaining his post. Yours was not. Thats what i wanted to draw your attention to. Make an original video and you would surely have your bonus.

I always put videos in always all my entry for all @originalworks contest but never receive reward. I noticed that it's the same set that are receiving that always

Hahah....Very nice reply @unprovoked
Like it :)
"Unfortunately a video bonus cannot be rewarded to those who did not submit a video"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81