Systems Make Success Easier

in #blockchain6 years ago


I ran across a great post on the FI/RE subreddit the other day, and it made me think about how much Steem allows us to create systems to collect more Steem and slowly build our presence on here.

Systems are habits we don't have to practice to attain.

That's a pretty strong statement, but considering my time (and likely yours) is limited, I have to rely on systems to do things that simplify my life. Fifteen years ago, I mailed in my rent check every month. What a pain! Today, my housing is autopaid every month. I'm sure you've done some small hacks like this with your bank already, but let's take a look at what we can do to build our Steem pile!

Steemvoter

I use Steemvoter, a free Steem voting bot, to autovote a handful of accounts that are creating solid content on the Steem blockchain. Let's face it: I don't have time to do all the things, but I want to see Steem succeed, so Steemvoter votes on over a dozen accounts for me. The result? Steem Power builds up due to curation rewards. This is not going to make anyone rich, but it's a great system that one can set on autopilot and earn a little more SP!

This doesn't mean that I have handed all of my decision making over to an autovoting bot. But it ensures my voting power never goes unused.

SteemPress

Every post, with the exception of SteepShot photos, is written on my blog, steemmaker. I use SteemPress to cross post from my WordPress powered blog to Steem, which gives me an opportunity to better organize my articles and take advantage of SEO. I'm still working on the site, and my graphical design is not quite where I'd like it, but this gives me the opportunity to talk to other WordPress users and get them interested in using SteemPress to collect some extra earnings on their blog. As most bloggers do it for free, it seems an easy sell to get people to install SteemPress.

More Time to Focus

When asked for their one word secret to success recently, both Bill Gates and Warren Buffet responded with, "Focus". That can be difficult for anyone trying to keep up on goings on in the blockchain world, but systems help automate the easy stuff so we can focus on the important things. The growing number of systems built on the Steem blockchain means we can support our friends, even when we don't have the time to scroll through all of our feed.[1]

What systems do you use to maximize productivity and focus better?

-Jeff

[1] There's a good case to be made that automation could backfire and result in less people actually using Steem. I'm interested in anyone debating this in the comments.


Posted from my blog with SteemPress : http://steemmaker.com/systems-make-success-easier/

Sort:  

SteemAuto is the main one that I use. I've got over a dozen accounts in mine as well. It's nice to be able to consistently reward those authors who have stuck out over the months on here. Whenever they post, even if I don't get a chance to see the post, I get to reward them for posting quality content and helping make Steemit a better place. I have worked hard to get my SP, and like you I don't want it to go to waste. It's nice to be able to bless them with votes even if I'm not around. And then when I have a chance, I can go back through and give them a comment to personalize it a bit. (I accidentally wrote "bot" at first. That would have been ironic.) :D

That would have been perfect. Heh. Seriously, though, if you're not able to go and personally read and vote your favorite Steemians, using an autovote service is a must. You're leaving money on the table otherwise, and it helps craft the Steem experience you desire.

If everyone was "too pure" to not autovote, only those who autoselfvote would receive rewards.

In that sense, it's almost a responsibility to ensure your voting power doesn't get wasted.

I agree with you. I don't want the VP that I have to go to waste and I've figured out a way to get votes spread around to a list of people and still have some left to upvote comments on my posts and upvote some other posts manually.

I've worked hard to acquire this SP and I want its value to be used to "help craft the Steem experience [I] desire." I know there are certain people who have values for the platform that are in line with mine and I want to help them achieve their goals. I hated logging on to see 100% VP... so I fixed it!

I don't think I'm here to debate, since we've already opened the subject on my post, but rather to say that the tools in and of themselves are not really the issue, it's how they're used.

I very much appreciate the upvotes I get from everyone, auto or not, and I feel a responsibility to all of them to produce what I believe to be meaningful and value adding content. I don't believe everyone will agree that what I do is just that, but some do, and I hope to see that number grow.

That said, I'm not autovoting myself. I have time, I have the desire, and ultimately, I feel Steemit is best served in this way. But everyone has to determine what they have time to do, so I'm not about to call anyone out for using autovoting. It's better to do that, and check in periodically on what the upvoted author's are doing, then it is to just leave the account stagnating.

I'm sure time is a factor for most people. There's always something else to do, and automation is meant to allow us to manage our time more effectively. So, who knows, I might get to a point myself one day where I choose to use such a service. For the present, though, I'm flying manual. :)

It's not for everyone, and I can respect the desire to ensure that every vote you make is meaningful.

I like your opinion, you make steemit more organik ^ ^ and it's make someone like me , who new in the steemit can have upvote more

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Congratulations @protegeaa! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Actually, I do not want make comment. Just give a suggestion, you should look steemdunk.xyz that good application beside steemvoter. I use both for my different account. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63743.08
ETH 2657.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.87