I'm leaving Sola, Minds, Golos and FileArmy

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

Some time ago I started testing other blockchain-based social networks, such as ONO, Trybe, Whaleshares, Weku, Bearshares, Sola, Minds, Golos and FileArmy. I wanted to compare user engagement and ROI in them with Steem. I've been cross-posting my Pinky and Spiky comics there too and longer posts on Trybe.

Today I decided to pull the plug and leave Sola, Minds, Golos and FileArmy because the engagement there is nowhere near Steem gets. About Sola I didn't like the fact that you can't withdraw less than 100 tokens plus the award system seems like lacking in transparency because I would get lots of upvotes but very few tokens. I've been on Sola for one month.

The ROI from Minds and FileArmy was too miniscule to bother. I've been on Minds for about 2.5 months and on FileArmy for one month.

Golos which I joined a month ago probably is a little better of the group of 4 but since it's mostly Russian-speaking community, the engagement there is limited too. Plus this place is covered with bots which spam users.

I left Bearshares earlier after posting there for 2 months because I didn't like their ability to delete accounts at will. They have done it in the past. Plus at one point their platform stopped working and users were required to submit requests to reactivate their accounts. I didn't submit my request.

I'll continue to post on Whaleshares, Weku, Trybe and ONO. The engagement and ROI has been better there but it's too early to tell if these sites will be successful or not.

Of course, as with everything with life I reserve the right to change my mind.

With 9 other platforms I thought I would gradually create 9 different revenue streams. Sounds clever? I thought so at first but no longer do. It was exhausting to post comics and articles on 9 different platforms. And all I could do was post because I didn't have time for true engagement with commenting and upvoting. Maybe a team of several people could manage them all but for one person it's really unfeasible.

The remaining 4 social networks (Whaleshares, Weku, ONO and Trybe) might be something that I can manage. Whaleshares starts to be important to me because I participate in Open Mic contest there with my organ videos. Weku, ONO and Trybe seem to be centralized which isn't ideal. But maybe with time they can change for the better and develop into something that the users will really enjoy.

So I think I better use my time here on Steem well. I'm so glad I'm on this platform. This was my best decision when I joined it a year ago.

Do you have experience with other blockchain-based social networks? Please share your thoughts in the comments.

Sort:  

Have you read this post?

https://steemit.com/steemit/@steemed/open-letter-about-forking-out-steemit

I joined Whaleshares on Discord but don't have time to get involved properly.

Yes, and because of this initiative Ned is transferring company's Steem to exchanges so that it would still have access to their Steem. This fork wouldn't work.

Posted using Partiko Android

Respect, there is no way I could find the time to post across platforms. I am also on smoke.io but only curate there mostly as I am not a smoker myself and it is a niche community.

I think that if Steem does well, you will have multiple revenue streams here anyway.

With SMT's, exactly...

Posted using Partiko Android

I have not tried other crypto social medias. Just to maintaining the "traditional" networks war to much. Facebook was the first i quitted. Twitter im just using sometimes to check info.

I maintain a Instagram account to post some art related stuff.

Im right now just posting active in Steem, i like the community. Im feel still new to this 😹 after nearly a year.

The most of the others networks you mentioned i didn't even know 🧐

So thanks for sharing your experience ✌️

Saludos desde España 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, stick with Steem. There is plenty to do here anyway.

Posted using Partiko Android

Using 9 different platforms would drive me crazy. I've tried to like Trybe but I just can't get on with it. I haven't found anything close to what we have here. Using Partiko, Steepshot and various other apps has opened my eyes to the potential.

Trybe is working on improvements but it's too early too tell how successful they will be. There is a lot of hype about this platform. With Steem on the hand everything is operational.

Posted using Partiko Android

You are drawing a genius. I wish you more success

You are genius too...

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much for participating the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @organduo!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.447 which ranks you at #6861 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 387 places in the last three days (old rank 7248).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 184 contributions, your post is ranked at #55.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63811.50
ETH 2617.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77