How To Get Along With The Crypto Community: Behave Like The Blockchain! An Awesome Metaphorical Comparison.

in #blockchain7 years ago (edited)

Blockchain is a mega buzz word. Right? It can be annoying but it really is a critical upgrade to the way people transact in many ways.
The topic is a hefty science but I like what Richard Brown, the Chief Technologist from R3 said about what makes blockchain different than traditonal record keeping. Whenever I explain blockchain technology to a friend or newbie, I mention the special list of 5 blockchain traits that the R3 wizzard spelled out- he calls them “The Blockchain Bundle”. Those 5 features or traits of a blockchain are:

1. Consensus, 2. Validity, 3. Uniqueness, 4. Immutibility, and 5. Authentication. postit.jpg

Recently I was challenged with the task of trying to help a friend gain some credibility in the bitcointalk forum. The crypto circles there have a very specific set of standards- and the ettiquette is quirky, sometimes redundant, and to be real... it doesn’t come easy, especially to a newcomer.
teamsilo.png

So when my friend asked me for advice on how to gain some respect from her peers in the forums, I suddenly realized something cool. aha.png

There are many similarities between blockchain traits and the way we are supposed to behave as members of the cryptosphere. I realized I could save time in explaining if I could list those 5 blocktrain traits somehow as 5 rules or model behaviors to gain the acceptance of the snarky and brutal elite of crypto.

So I listed the 5 traits to see if they applied to humans and blockchains. They totally DO!
Let me break it down.

Blockchain Traits or BehaviorsCan This Be Applied To Human Behavior?
ConsensusYes!
VailidityYes!
UniquenessYes!
ImmutibilityYes!
AuthenticationYes!

So knowing that we can model these traits- I will now walk through what I mean for each of the 5 parts of the blockchain bundle.

Act Like A Blockchain
In social circles of the crypto-elite here is how you can mimic the blockchain.

1.Consensus - In a blockchain transaction there must be multiple confirmations by unrelated parties that they agree on the numbers. This agreement is a consensus. This is required in relationships with other cryptocurrency users in a public space if you are going to gain group consensus that you are trustworthy.

2.Validity- In blockchain transactions and in any feedback left on your forum profile by other members, the statement whether factual or opinion based should be true and valid. Valid, trusted feedback will have at least one reference link to show the reason for your hard earned trust. This can be anything from a simple url where you are seen keeping a promise to a blockchain transaction id showing the amount that matches the trust feedback numbers.

3.Uniqueness - Blockchain transactions are completely unique from one another, and there will never be two identical records. The same must be true for each member of the community. There is only one PrettyMissBitty and this is how her peers know she is herself.

4.Immutability- Just as a blockchain seals confirmed records firmly making it impossible to alter historical data; the forum members strongly insist on quoting the posts you respond to, so no message or post can vanish. Members cannot delete the quote of another user. This prevents tricksters from being able to erase what they have said or done.

5.Authentication- Cryptographically transmitted numbers are sent from the authenticated source via long, complex strings of numbers that are called a master keys. Users on the forum are expected to authenticate their forum identity. They achieve this when they stake their bitcoin addresses by signing a message from the address they plan to use in forum dealings or by stating their bitcoin address and having another user quote that message in a reply. This way you can always get your account back if it gets hacked- and it happens often on any forum so be aware!

I hope you kinda understand my metaphor here, and hopefully you will be able to act like a blockchain too!
Let me know what you think by commenting, please! Follow me- obviously. Thanks ~

Sort:  

When you say, " the statement whether factual or opinion based should be true and valid", you are only partially correct. Opinions are subjective and a "true and valid" opinion can never exist. Also, when you say "he amount that matches the trust feedbacks numbers", please remember feedback is singular (shouldn't use "feedbacks".

Thank you! 🤦🏼‍♀️ Corrected the plural issue. Woops ! About the true and valid point. Yes I must have hurried at that point. If an opinion is given in trust ratings on the bitcointalk forum it absolutely IS opinion most of the time, and you're correct- it can't be "valid and true" at the same time. It can only be supported as true, in circumstantial reference and that is not the same as making it a fact. Goooood eye. I am impressed !! @omarf 🦋

Thanks. I've been looking through your posts. They're amazing. You're the best steemian I've come across so far. Your content is superb. (By the way, I don't give compliments.)

Wow. Thanks so much for not complimenting me then. That was the most flattering non-compliment of the year!! 🦋

You're welcome!

Here's the BEST explanation of blockchain that I've come across:

With respect to validity and opinions, I think it is also important to back up your reasoning so that people can determine whether your opinions are well-founded. This is especially important if you change your mind about something!

With respect to immutability, I would tie this to integrity. If you keep your word and follow through, so that your commitments are immutable.

There rest I think is spot on, although I only engage with other crypto users here (already an immutable record) so I'm a bit lax about quoting the original comments when I respond.

Yes, I see what you mean about immutable records, and thanks for the responses.

yes sis nice post help me alot in understanding keep it up.

@originalworks tell me how Authentic my words are, please. !originalworks

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lorilikes to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65375.87
ETH 3337.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63