Digging into steemit.com performance issues

in #blockchain6 years ago

I'm in the eastern united states, and steemit doesn't really load for me. I mean, it loads, but can't load my followers, or past posts, and I don't know if this post will make it through either. I saw somewhere that steemit.com had been being ddos'd?

Is that right?

Possiblities:
  • ddos
  • blockchain api unable to keep up with site demands
  • Something broken on the cloud side of things

Or a combination. My money is on a combination of the first two on that list there. Well, more like: DDOS causing blockchain api unable to keep up with site demands.

So I was going to make a post with no photo, but then this happened:

image

source

My bet is still DDOS = blockchain API can't keep up with total traffic.

It's interesting, though, and it supports the idea of forking steem. More distributed social media is better distributed social media!


@journalisme

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 71148.50
ETH 3780.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78