(IJCH) "Old Wars", "New Wars" in the Computer Tech and Cryptocurrency Space!

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) "Old Wars", "New Wars" in the Computer Tech and Cryptocurrency Space!

Source

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (Meaning: My Warped, Personal Opinions and Musings)

Source

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

Source

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

I just read this excellent and very informative post by @vimukthi:

"A Collection Of Cryptocurrency News and Developments on Binance, EOS, Komodo, BCH, NEM, LBRY, Chainzilla and Many More"

source

I recommend you check it out. I'm sure you will learn something cool.

Here's the Article Link:

https://steemit.com/news/@vimukthi/a-collection-of-cryptocurrency-news-and-developments-on-binance-eos-komodo-bch-nem-lbry-chainzilla-and-many-more

It prompted me to reply with this comment:

(To: @vimukthi)

"Old Wars", "New Wars" in the Computer Tech and Cryptocurrency Space!

Source

Back in the day, it used to be CPU wars, then SIMM/DIMM RAM wars, then GPU wars.

(Damn, I can remember when I thought I was "The Shit" - not to mention the accompanying rock-solid nerd boner - when I bought a 386SX!)

Lol!

Source

What's inbound?

"The Core Wars" with every platform scrambling to upgrade and optimize in order to exploit as many CPU cores as possible (for parallel processing).

Source

My buddy bought an 8-Core Tablet six months ago.

His Android apps simply zing! And it requires MUCH LESS of that annoying Android OS cache clearing, system maintenance, and stalls that require forced reboots.

Check out Intel's New 28 Core Monster 5GHz Desktop Processor (Core i9-7980XE), poised to be the most powerful desktop processor!

Source

Intel has revealed what could be a major challenge to AMD's Threadripper 2 processors in the form of its most powerful desktop CPU ever.

The yet unnamed CPU was revealed at the Computex trade show in Taiwan and during the presentation, the CPU appears to be able to sit at a massive 5GHz across all cores too and is due for release in Q4 this year.

Source

Then, what's next?

It will be the "Solid State Drive Wars" for renting out unused storage; meaning, the faster and the bigger your SSD, the more tokens you earn?

Source

Of course, the faster, more expensive NVMe (non-volatile memory express - a host controller interface and storage protocol) based SSDs will get even more expensive and scarce (akin to the chronic price hikes and shortages of ASICs in the mining space).

Who knows?

Maybe that will result in cheaper, PCIe (Peripheral Component Interconnect Express, the serial expansion bus standard) based SSDs?

Note:

Compared to NVMe SSDs, PCIe SSDs are "slower".

But in the broader context, this "slower" label is a misnomer when you consider the alternative - the traditional SATA Drives; of which, PCIe SSDs simply leave in the dust [read/write times].

Since all SSDs are smaller, virtually maintenance free, last longer AND consume less energy, IMHO, almost all future devices will incorporate SSDs.

Source

I believe EOS and Cardano are actively working on multiple core exploitation, no?

BTW, Haskell, Plutus, and Rust are implemented in Cardano.

Source

That means that when Cardano goes live, it's already positioned for the upcoming "Core Wars", optimized paralell processing AND fulfilling one of their Platform's Core Pillars - Interoperability.

Source

BTW, EOS (Dan) is proposing CPU and Bandwidth (in addition to their present RAM) tokens based on staked EOS tokens.

Source

And let's not forget the EOS fork - Telos; basically an EOS platform sans the whales.

Source

Always enjoy your posts immensely.

Namaste, my friend .

JaiChai

P.S.

Will probably ref/props your post if I make one from my comment.

(End of Comment)

By JaiChai

Mighty Kind of You for stopping by.

Truly hope to see you again!

Source

About the Author

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he performed high altitude, free-fall parachute jumps and hazardous diving ops in deep, open ocean water.

AM490.jpg

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

busy animated gif.gif
Source

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)


CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

asapers.png
("Join the A.S.A.P.ers Discord Channel")

JC320 black line frame.jpg
Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

Sort:  

Technology of computing is sure leaping ahead in jumps and bounds

It is hard to stay up with all these projects. I need more time. Thanks for a little bit of info on where they are headed.

Am glad to learn from you again today @jaichai my friend

Always cool to see you here. Glad to inform.

Thanks for commenting.

Namaste, JaiChai

Just few days ago I was perusing drawers and found my old Game Boy, and my old mobile, I thought on how fast computer/mobile technology has moved since I last opened the drawer. @jaichai, this article opens a small window with a view which will never cease to surprise me.

Words thoughtfully chosen.

Thank you for that...

Namaste, Jaichai

You're welcome, have a lovely weekend. :)

Hooboy, I am glad you too can keep up with each other, and then explain it to me! I recently read a sci-fi futuristic story about this stuff, read that and you can see where my mind goes when you are talking about this stuff.

Always a pleasure to chat with you and see where your mind is at!

i386 is practically a legend for me. The worst PC I've come across my entire life was a Pentium II 350 MHz computer.

Storage requirements have grown really huge with games and 4K video etc. So storage renting could end up being huge in the future. Telos could also be a nice way o keep EOS in check and become and alternative if a need arise. I'm just wondering how they are going to get rid of the whales if they are airdropping.

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 91.14% Upvote. Send 0.5 SBD or STEEM to @steemvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54552.37
ETH 2295.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30