(IJCH) BREAKING!: Cardano's Icarus enables Browser based wallet!

in #blockchain6 years ago (edited)

(IJCH) BREAKING!: Cardano's Icarus enables Browser based wallet!

source

IJCH - Inside JaiChai's Head (Meaning: My Warped, Personal Opinions and Musings)

Source

From the Author:

Salutations.

I am JaiChai.

And if I haven't had the pleasure of meeting you before, I'm delighted to make your acquaintance now.

Source

I invite you to interact with everyone, learn, and have as much fun as possible!

For my returning online friends, "It's always great to see you again!"

Cardano's Icarus

Source

Icarus is Cardano's "light client, plain vanilla" reference design written in a hybrid of JavaScript/Rust; making it easy for 3rd party developers to create Cardano-centric apps.

A Cardano partner company called "Emurgo " used Icarus to add ADA wallet functionality on Chrome.

Source

Emurgo's Chrome app is set to roll out on September 15.

But Icarus (open source code) can easily be used to create a Mozilla version.

See this article:

"Cardano Creator Drops Major Announcements on ADA Crypto, ‘ADA Pay’, Google Chrome Extension and Open-Source Initiative"

Source

Icarus is a Google Chrome extension that can be ported to other platforms such as Mozilla Firefox and mobile applications. It’s a full wallet running in Google Chrome.

While it doesn’t have a full copy of the blockchain, you can do everything with it that you can do with Daedalus, which is currently the only cryptocurrency wallet that holds ADA and allows transfers to other wallets.

Key features of Icarus:

  • One-click install from the Chrome web store

  • Import a Daedalus wallet into Icarus

  • Recover your wallet in Icarus in 2-3 minutes

  • No need to download the entire blockchain

  • Fully security-audited

Source

See this video for more details:

August 15th Announcement

Parting Shot

"Ada Lovelace"
Source

By JaiChai

Mighty Kind of You for stopping by.

Truly hope to see you again!

Source

About the Author

Believing that school was too boring, he dropped out of High School early; only to earn an AA, BS and MBA in less than 4 years much later in life – while working full-time as a Navy/Marine Corps Medic.

In spite of a fear of heights and deep water, he performed high altitude, free-fall parachute jumps and hazardous diving ops in deep, open ocean water.

AM490.jpg

After 24 years of active duty, he retired in Asia.

Since then, he's been a full-time, single papa and actively pursuing his varied passions (Writing, Disruptive Technology, Computer Science and Cryptocurrency - plus more hobbies too boring or bizarre for most folk).

He lives on an island paradise with his teenage daughter, longtime girlfriend and three dogs.

busy animated gif.gif
Source

(More articles by JaiChai can be found on the Busy.org website. Use this link to visit Busy.org. Better yet, come join the Busy.org community!)


CLICK HERE TO JOIN THE STEEMIT BLOGGERS ON DISCORD

Animated Banner Created By @zord189 [Creatives]

asapers.png
("Join the A.S.A.P.ers Discord Channel")

JC320 black line frame.jpg
Source

"My mind was a terrible thing to waste..." - JaiChai

Sort:  

I'm a huge Cardano fan so I like to see any positive news on them!

It's about time: my Cardano is simpy being held hostage by the Daedalus wallet. I'll be over the moon when a new solution is created

Have you tried the recent upgrade? I hear it's a big improvement.

From Cardano.org and IOHK:

IOHK is pleased to announce the release of Daedalus 0.11 and Cardano 1.3. It’s another step along the roadmap of Cardano development and delivers a better experience for users.

For exchanges and other third party integrations, the new wallet V1 API is now available and supported, and the old V0 API is now deprecated. A performance problem for exchanges seeing high disk I/O has been resolved.

Daedalus 0.11 uses significantly less memory, which is a benefit for users with older or less powerful computers, while other tweaks improve the user experience. Improvements to Cardano SL 1.3 mean that network performance will be enhanced. Exchanges will also see better performance.

https://forum.cardano.org/t/iohk-statement-cardano-sl-1-3-release/14792

I'm still waiting for a Linux version of Daedalus or Emurge's Chrome ADA wallet (supposedly releasing on Sept. 15) - whichever comes first.

And if the Chrome wallet arrives first, I hope it will not hiccup on my Linux system.

Lastly, I'm crossing my fingers that the two exchanges I have ADA on don't shit the bed before either of my two alternatives materialize!

(Being both anal and OCD, there's way too many "if's" for my comfort level right now!)

Thanks for visiting and commenting.

Namaste, JaiChai

I tried, but the problem lies in the synchronisation of the clock. And to be honest, since I hears about Icarus, I've been too laey to spens my precious time looking for a fix :0)

I am a bit new in steem and this tale has helped me to apprehend a chunk like this platform was earlier than, I simply noticed all the help you give to the users because I have been working on it for a few days now could be high-quality, I would love someday to be one of these folks that obtain your assist, I will constantly be helping you within the comments, my buddy, I am hoping you have got a pleasant afternoon.

Salutations @sayemsonai!

Thank you for visiting and commenting.

RE: Your Comment

The Cardano Project AND Charlie H. are big interests of mine.

Unfortunately, since I've already posted 3 articles today, I think I'll wait until tomorrow for the next one.

Today's post was to broadcast the new developments and to remind the Cardano crowd that Cardano/IOHK knows that the Daedalus wallet experience leaves much to be desired (a big gripe of mine is that the Linux version is still forthcoming).

OK, deal.

Please DM me early tomorrow (or comment here) and remind me to do a simple piece on the major components (subsystems within Cardano), ok?

May you and yours be well and love life today.

Namaste, JaiChai

P.S.

Just search "Cardano JaiChai" for the many Cardano posts from the past. If you read them, you'll be well on your way to understanding the Cardano Project.

I've got cardano and am holding it for now

Wise choice.

Thank you for visiting and commenting.

Namaste, JaiChai

Your post was very beautiful. I have read your entire post with my heart.I like your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56