You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: eco+, interactive interface for the STEEM blockchain for environmentalists and ethical vegans

in #blockchain6 years ago

Going cold turkey did the job for me. The dopamine depletion lasts only for a few days/weeks, like with any addiction.

The problem with eggs is that the production must involve slaughter even if you're buying free range. The chickens must be kept at a 1:10 male to female ratio if you don't want the roosters to rape the chickens or the roosters to kill each other. The laying happens at a 1:1 ratio, depending on the conditions. Basic math tells you that to keep producing you must slaughter the males (or have infinite acreage of land to keep them separate).

Sort:  

We only eat eggs from neighbours chicken, and are going to get own ones. I know it is always a kind of rape, but I have to say, that I am weak sometimes. Until 5 years ago I eat meat a lot, than I stopped this and now I am on my way to become vegan...But you knwo, it s way to go...step by step

It's not rape until you go over the 1:10 ratio. You must slaughter to keep that ratio. So it's either slaughter or rape (or both in some irresponsible homesteads)...
Instant switch won't make you sick. In a few weeks it'll make you feel even better psychologically (because you know for sure you're not contributing to abuse). Try for a month and see :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57367.79
ETH 3098.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32