Alternatives to Google and Youtube

in #blockchain7 years ago (edited)

goolag_large.jpg

The firing of James Damore was the final straw that made me realize I had to go and find some alternatives to Google and Youtube. The constant manipulation and thought-policing is getting to Orwellian levels.
Wouldn't it be nice if there were platforms that would be just useful tools for adult people?
Without any mission to educate the herd in the blessings of Social Justice?

A simple test during the US elections last year showed that Google supressed negative search-results on Hillary Clinton where other search-engines showed them correctly; even Bing.
So I decided to give good old Microsoft a new chance and try their Edge-browser with Bing.
On my phone (Android, alas) I use DuckDuckGo.

Someone recommended the Pale Moon-browser https://www.palemoon.org/ as an alternative. I had never heard of it and haven't tried it. But you might want to.

Where to go for an alternative video platform?
I heard about Vidme and Minds and looked briefly into it. But I was happy to see here on Steemit that @heimindanger had made a post about https://dtube.video/
That looks promising!
Unfortunately I still haven't managed to log in. I'm not sure what is going wrong there. I might try again tomorrow.

Another blockchain video-solution I found today is LBRY https://lbry.io/.
That one looks promising too and I was happy to see they featured a video with Jordan Peterson interviewing James Damore.
After some trouble (probably due to newbie-stupidity on my side) I even managed to post a first video.

Let me know what your experience is with these platforms or if you have any other suggestions.


Throw some crypto my way! :-)
Bitcoin: 1NLb1aSx8Z1oibXCnCVf5pGTMDfTKUxAgJ
Dash: XcYaMdzLtWMHiaoGZxJ5NNa55vCSQ4c33L
Ethereum: 0xe89d71293b2E7458B196DECe72866f21A388e02A
Litecoin: LeKuLRTZndvwDNzPnRP6HGpwmDyu1EnRYM
Use this code and get 3% off every purchase on Genesis Mining : rz0boi
https://www.genesis-mining.com/
Get on Coinbase and receive $10 (or €8) in bitcoin using this link:
https://www.coinbase.com/join/5964f2d9825639008c7850ab

Sort:  

Hi. I am a volunteer bot for @resteembot that upvoted you.
Your post was chosen at random, as part of the advertisment campaign for @resteembot.
@resteembot is meant to help minnows get noticed by re-steeming their posts


To use the bot, one must follow it for at least 3 hours, and then make a transaction where the memo is the url of the post.
If you want to learn more - read the introduction post of @resteembot.
If you want help spread the word - read the advertisment program post.


Steem ON!

Thanks Bot, for choosing my post at random! You Bots are truly my bestest friends! Where would minnows like me be without you. You Steem on too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62135.43
ETH 2418.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58