You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Narrative Launch: My First Impressions

in #blockchain5 years ago

Would you mind telling me more on how you see this 'owning a niche' playing out?

Just off the top of my head - there are a finite number of niches (although probably expanding with number of people, they are at least asymptotic after mass adoption, approaching zero new possible niches). So early movers get the niches, maybe they can sell them if its profitable and the responsibility becomes too much? Or how will 'lazy' owners get booted? When you die in from a whitewater rafting mishap in the year 2093 who will run the speculative fiction niche?

Sort:  

Those are all great questions, and, believe me, I've thought of them. I've been discussing niche ownership issues on their forum. There's one snag in the "ownership" department. It's not truly ownership. You lease for a year. So if I die mid-year, chances are, it would go to auction at renewal time. That is, unless I was wise enough to will it to someone and give them keys to my account, or give those keys to my testator. In that case, renewal would fall upon the person to whom I will it.

On a broader scale, there are plans for Narrative to allow niche sales from one owner to another. I don't have specifics, but I've seen it discussed.

Keep in mind, most people won't be interested in owning niches, or moderating them. They'll just want to create content. And there's nothing wrong with that. Right now, there are over 2,000 niches approved by the community that don't have owners. It will take a while, I think, before all them find their way to someone's heart. Maybe one of them could be yours. :-)

OOOH one year lease makes a LOT more sense, from a long term perspective!

I am very happy to explore other projects vicariously, not that I wouldn't move but currently it would take a lot for me to do something else. Keep telling us about them, because I love hearing about new projects!

Is there some way to get NEO payouts?

Keep telling us about them, because I love hearing about new projects!

Absolutely.

Is there some way to get NEO payouts?

Not that I'm aware of, but it should be easy to convert from NRVE to NEO. You can also get USD payouts, but there's a surcharge you end up with less. NRVE is listed on CoinMarketCap. It's currently traded through Bilaxy and LAToken. Should be fairly easy to convert.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62934.09
ETH 3118.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85