Writing Online: Will the Blockchains Be Able to Keep Their Promise?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #blockchain5 years ago

In my soon to be two years of being part of the Steem ecosystem, one of the primary attractors for me has been the idea that the blockchain — basically, what we post here — offers a sort of permanent record of whatever is put here.

I really like the idea that my stuff is just "there," independently of the whims of some central organization, a company, or something else.

210Leaves140114a.jpg
Sun on leaves

I've been part of more web communities than I care to think of, and one of my biggest issues — and sources of distress — was always this nagging idea that the venue I was pouring my heart and soul into could basically shut down and be gone tomorrow.

And, I might add, that did happen to me on numerous occasions... although on some of those occasions the site operators had the decency to give a week's (or a month's) warning, and suggest that everyone hurry up and "archive their posts."

Confessions of a Word Hoarder...

Now, I realize that a lot of people would care very little if their web content suddenly vanished one day... perhaps relegating such an event to the ranks of "mildly annoying."

226Leaves140401a.jpg
Water droplets on Japanese maples

As a life-long writer, I guess I am just a little more "attached" to my words, and my work.

To wit, I have back-up files of pretty much everything of significance I have ever written... just in case. I suppose that makes me some strange kind of "word hoarder!"

But I am not really the prime example I am thinking of, when it comes to questioning this "promise." In this case, I am more concerned for artists, musicians, photographers and other creatives who latch onto the concept in hopes of FINALLY having some kind of safe online "archive" for their body of work.

Once conversation I had included the words "It would be really cool if my grandkids could come here, many years down the road, and see what one of their family members was up to, in 2019!"

Yes, indeed. That would be really cool!

246NewSunset140716f.jpg
Sunset over the Olympic Mountain Range

Getting Back to the Blockchain

In recent days, I have had several discussions with people about where they contribute, and how we feel about the proliferation of new blockchain based content sites that seem to be coming online, these days.

I know about the promise of blockchain principles and how it is supposed to work, but with so many of these often "thinly backed" projects, are they all going to be able to keep that promise of serving as a sort of permanent storage for our content; if you will, our own personalized version of the Internet Archive (aka "The Wayback Machine")? Or are they just as likely to go away as any other format, once sufficient "density" is reached?

What brings this to the forefront of my thoughts right now is the recent talk about "some group" of witnesses allegedly wanting to fork Steem, as a sort of defensive move against a broader lack of confidence in the Steemit, Inc. organization.

240Clover140713a.jpg
Are you feeling lucky, today?

Of course, I'm a sure there's a bunch of people ready to step up and say "Yeah, but all your stuff would live on in the fork!"

Be that as it may, when you keep splitting something up, will there always be someone interested in keeping the branches moving forward?

After all, cities are created with the best of intentions, and yet we do end up with "ghost towns." Just saying...

It's not that I am actively worried at this point... more posing the broader philosophical discussion of whether we can truly rely on blockchains and their technology to keep their promises? Or is it like everything else in life... "there are always exceptions..."

Thanks for reading!

What do YOU think? How confident are you that the Steem — or any other — blockchain truly is a type of permanent "data vault?" Can excessive forks cause excessive "thinning," to the point where a chain just stops? Or will there always be someone to take up the slack? Or do I simply not understand how things work? Leave a comment-- share your experiences-- be part of the conversation!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

(As always, all text and images by the author, unless otherwise credited. This is original content, created expressly for Steemit)
Created at 190118 16:54 PST

0852

Sort:  

Unlike a tree, having 30 different blockchains at the end isn't going to last. They don't all survive. It's more like a tree with 1 or 2 branches, and that's it. Not a very good looking tree, but it survives :P One or maybe two will maintain support, but I think more than that and the rest die off. Maybe the latter ones get the support to stay alive and the original dies, but usually the original source branch has the most push and support to keep going (unless issues like being hacked, which is why ETC is less popular than the forked ETH).

Thanks for your analogy.
Are you @krnel that what we post may not last?

Are you @krnel that what we post may not last?

I don't understand that sentence. Can you rephrase?

Are you @krnel that what we post may not last?

Correction: @krnel are you saying, "That what we post may not last?"
"Last"meaning remain on the internet.

Anything anywhere can go away. Companies can do down ad their DBs gone, blockchains can die. The internet can be dissolved with an EMT blast...

@krnel thanks! I am looking forward to whatever happens. Never look back. Thanks for clearing this up. I may quote you. So many posts say the blockchain is here forever.

This comment makes it all the more interesting for me.

Interesting analogy. I do think blockchain is the beginning of digital information taking on organic qualities. And like organic beings, it's likely many smaller branches die, to be replaced by other smaller branches in repeating cycles as a few main trunks grow stronger. Eventually even the main trunks die, but if the organic system is working by that time it will have already seeded others that can take its place.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well said, as always and I really enjoy your photos.
thank you!

A word hoarder! Me too.

Posted using Partiko Android

Great post!
I believe Steem and it’s authors & curators will be everlasting. It’s still very young and in beta but still has more active volume across the board than many other blockchains.
Steem on :)

I like the idea of a permanent record but it's definitely good idea to save copies of your articles offline as well.

When the last witness decides to throw in the towel ...

There is no absolute guarantee of permanence, but I hear ink on paper has done quite well over the centuries 8-).

You word hoarder you...... lol

I save every usable part, piece, nut, bolt, screw, washer, etc etc..... but words...... I never really thought about that ?

I have been "collecting" many photos since October 2010 of That Darn Cat. Thousands of them. I have always saved my photos. Like memories I fear forgetting. Even photos from my teenage years. As if I fear the dreaded Alzhiemers that took my Grandmother Hazel. She was 82. My Hero. My father is 76 and shows signs.

Interesting as it is, I do not like the word hoarder, I had an Aunt that passed a few years back, it was nearly a week till they found Her. She was a Hoarder. Seems like that word is always associated with people that are "Dirty or Dissorganized" And I certainly do not see you as that.!!

Word "Collector" or "keeper" sounds better to me..... juss my opinion.

Here is a photo of a piece of furniture and gold laced china set that my father gave me. It came from that Aunt I mentioned. Her "collection" had many unopened, unused items.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello @denmarkguy, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44