Track your workout on a blockchain

in #blockchain7 years ago

Just had a crazy idea pop-up while at the gym. Since a blockchain is immutable and can work with smart contracts, how well can it keep track of your workout-routine? You might say there is no need to do this on a blockchain, and you might be right, but hear me out.

The blockchain technology is in some way meant to be able to communicate with other devices. You could say the blockchain technology is part of the Internet of Things. Within the IoT there are new 'inventions' every day and it is only a matter of time before we can digitize almost all of our information. When I talk about information and fitness, I think about digitizing our weightloss, maximum weight on exercises, our fatigue and so on. This information will be available for us to analyze.

Yet if we connect this information to a blockchain and let smart contracts analyze the progress and calculate the possible progress in the near future, we might be able to create the perfect workout-routine.

It happens too often that I forget what I lifted last time, or overtrain due to overestimating myself. Like I said, maybe a blockchain is not yet the perfect solution, but I do see possibilities.

Once the physical and digital identity can be paired it can even be a motivational boost to know that friends, or worse your wife/girlfriend, can go ahead and check your progress. Plus, you will be able to compare your current workout-routine with the one you first started off with.

Let me know what you think, I might be thinking in a completely wrong direction on this one, but it is never wrong to make mistakes as long as you learn from them!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67975.29
ETH 3240.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66