What do you think of my first mining rig?

in #blockchain7 years ago

Hey steemers,

this was my first attempt to building a mining rig! After doing some cloud mining on genesis mining i wanted always to get to know how building my own rigs works.

I toke in account some great youtubers and checked some guides like that one

 

My Hardware

First of all you need to judge which components you want to assemble and with all this shortage of graphic card. 

For the choice of GPUs, there are two camps: NVIDIA and AMD.

You must choose your GPU according to:

  1. 1 / Its purchase price
  2. 2 / Its power consumption
  3. 3 / Sounds cooling system (immediately ban the GPUs with a single fan ...)
  4. 4 / Its rate of Hash (in MH / s for Ethereum) for the crypto-currency you want to undermine.


Personally, I have chosen AMD with its Polaris GPU (RX400 / 500 Series) and more specifically the RX570.

Why?

  1. 1 / For its purchase price (about 220 € depending on the brand and model)
  2. 2 / Its power consumption of 110W
  3. 3 / Its rate of Hash (about 23 MH / s with the basic bios)

For the processor, I also use that of my PC Gamer, an i5 6600k that I downclock for it consumes less. Indeed, no need for a good CPU, it only serves to launch the system, it will not be solicited. (Many uses a Celeron or a Pentium 1st price ...)


On the RAM side, I have 8 GB in DDR4, however, 4 GB is enough for mining.

For the hard disk, any disk see even USB stick and it's good, however I put a SSD that I had at hand, it does not heat and it does not vibrate.

I have for the moment a temporary do-it-yourself, while I do my tests, composed mainly of wood:

This are the main one components that i decided to put at the end:

At the end of more attempt this is how look like my new mining rig. 

My Software

Now let s go ahed and see what i did installing the software. I was going direct with the easy windows 10 and for testing without overclocking the graphic card (although i could). 

After searching with different pool i decided to use Nicehash that seems the easies one to use, right?

After some trials, this is the performance that i got, here is the screenshot:

The temperature are pretty normal considering i put an automatic fan system. ONLY that the last 2 are colder, do you know why exactly?

My overall expirience for this assembly and installation:

It was great, interesting to see how much time you are spending for research and making sure you are doing the right thinking. It will help a lot if you are looking at slack groups, discort groups and telegram groups. After doing trading i think mining with you own hardware could be a stable entry that you don't need to care about daily.

I hope you steemers liked my effort and hopefully the next attempt will be better!

I am looking forward to comment to improve and maybe you can say me how i can get more from my mining rig.

I will post also a review on how genesis mining is going for me, very neutral, just fact! Tell if you would like it

Happy steeming

Francesco



Sort:  

Good work mate!! May I ask you how much invest?
Enjoy mining!

Hey @toofasteddie! of course yes. I spend around 2800 dollars. Do you have a similar machine?

no, mining requires time as well and I don't have so much :-)
Hope the best with your project!

I'm considering doing this but I'm not exactly sure if I'm up for all of the needed research. I was building my own home desktop computers in the early 90's, but I built my last one around 2002 and have fallen way behind the technology. I have also forgotten most of what little I knew of basic programming commands, although I don't know if any of it would still be relevant anyway. The hardest part for me would probably be learning and understanding the terminology, some of the things that you said in this blog have no meaning for me lol. It's tough to get old and nearly obsolete!

Hey @deaconlee! i think is way easier today that the 90's! you are not obsolete, c'mon!
Photo on 12.07.17 at 21.19.jpg

Wow... che impianto :-)
Vale ancora la pena minare? Con Segwit dovrebbe essere meglio o sbaglio?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61297.02
ETH 2687.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59