Something from my bar whenever I feel like it episode CCCXVIIIsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blob7 years ago

Well was looking high and low for something off the wall for today's episode. Found something. Well 2 somethings. They had been staring me right in the face all this time. Or should I say I was staring at them all this time. Can't have a good bar without a TV or 2. Thing is these aren't actually TVs. They are plasma monitors. Back in the day before LED existed and LCD only went up to 37" if you wanted a big TV you had about 3 choices. Projection (big and bulky, not wall mountable), Projector (thought of it, ceiling too low), or Plasma. Even plasma only went up to about 60" at the time. They were very expensive too. TV's were 1-2 grand more than a monitor for some reason even though the monitors were better quality. So I bought a monitor and cheap DVD/VCR combo to use as a tuner. Still very expensive by today's standards. The first one I bought is in the first 2 pics. It was a 50" Sony. That set me back over $6000. With the wall mount closer to $7000. I went with an articulated wall mount since it was in a corner. I can pull it out and turn it so it can be seen from everywhere in the bar (well except the bathroom). Then I can put it back flush for those hardcore pool games. I usually just leave it slightly tilted. Can see it from most places. The older units just didn't have that 160 degree viewing angle of today's flat screens. Oh and a lot heavier too. You can see in the pic of the wall mount we had to beef up the wall to hold it.

I quickly realized that 1 TV was a pain for watching both NASCAR and football so the next year I bought a second one. Only 42" this time. Prices dropped dramatically (one of those kick myself moments) and this one was only around $2000. It's just mounted flat on the wall. Just think today you can get a 50-60" 4K UHD TV for under $400. Also they weigh maybe 50lbs. Tech changes so fast.



First 100 Episode Recap | Second 100 Episode Recap | Third 100 Episode Recap

Follow Me | Witness Proposal

Sort:  

Insignia!, value for money

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64485.37
ETH 3156.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05