Make the steem logo - Blender tutorial

in #blender8 years ago (edited)


Blender: https://www.blender.org/download/
Steem logo image for tracing: (right click and download the image)

http://www.blendswap.com/blends/85183

3D modelling is a very useful skill!

This is my first Blender tutorial which aims to teach the basics.

After watching the 22-minute video you should be able to make images like this:

Nothing fancy, I know - but being able to create pretty pictures can be fun and also add uniqueness to your steem posts. I'd love to see your Blender creations here on Steem, so if you make something, please tag #blender

Let me know if you run into any trouble!

You should view the video in full-screen so you can see the interface properly.

Here are the download links:

And the finished blend file in case you already know Blender and just want to use the logo: http://www.blendswap.com/blends/view/85181

Blend file with clouds and landscape:

http://www.blendswap.com/blends/85183

Credit goes to @stino-san who posted the logo for personal use here. I'm not sure who is the original creator or what the licensing is so if anyone knows, please tell!

Sort:  

Instead of tracing the shape, you can just import it as SVG, see https://steemit.com/steemit/@frankbuss/animated-3d-steemit-logo-gif

This is really great, thanks for sharing. I watched through most of it just then, but have tagged to watch later when i have time to go through it with Blender open. Instructions were all very clear so far and thanks for sharing the files as well.

Thanks for the positive feedback! I know I found a lot of tutorials frustrating when I started learning and I've been meaning to make a tutorial for a long time.

Thank you again for the amazing animation you did for me a couple of months ago, this tutorial will allow me to create my own.

Great work thanks really helpful

Well I hope you keep doing them, it's definitely a skill you have. As Steem grows so too will the niche tags like #blender Its great to see content like this created for the community.

If someone needs the actual logo files for usage in their posts I made the steemit Logo available in a few different file formats: download it from my blog

Thanks. Damn, that is an ugly-lookin' logo.

Haha, it is a very simple logo. But you got to start somewhere.

Thanks. I've installed Blender for a while but not play with it much. maybe now is a good time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58269.58
ETH 3138.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43