I've Been Busy BlenderingsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #blender7 years ago (edited)

It turns out I'm going to probably have to spend some of my beloved Steem.

I spent the last couple of days working on some motion graphics. I'm really happy with the modeling and animation so this morning, around 6am I set up a 4k render at a bitrate of 80 megabits/ second set at 1k samples. This will certainly be a high quality output.

Blender-icon.png

Nice, right?

Well, it is now 8pm and my i7 machine has rendered out... 10 frames. It has 220 more from just this scene. I have over 9 scenes more - so far. I was thinking of doing more. That just doesn't even work.

This is what it has been doing all day - lol

Screenshot_20170706_200729.png

Obviously, I can bring the output quality back a bit, but where is the fun in that?

I have long planned to go with Dell or build one myself this time, but I really think its time to take a serious look at System76, especially since I am a Linux operator. The question now is whether to go with a desktop or laptop.

These days, we aren't really giving much up if we want to run a laptop. Obviously, since my work is in video and 3d animation, I want a pretty potent machine, but this Bonobo seems to have plenty of graphics performance. They will put two GTX 1080s in the thing, if I want (I do).

Ugh. I'm so cheap. Well, cheap isn't the right word. I will spend good money on good tools, but pulling the proverbial trigger is really hard for me.

Sort:  

You might want to check this out!

I watch pretty much all this guys stuff. He is probably the best teacher out there.

I'd stick to desktop for this heavy job if I were you

Your probably right. The only reason I am leaning toward a laptop at all is that I plan to do a fair bit of traveling.

Traveling with a desktop isn't out of the question though. I have done it several times before. Plus, I could get a pair of Titan X, and I think for the price v performance, it's the way to go, especially in the long run.

You get much better cooling and much better hardware with a desktop, but travelling is of course an important consideration. Remember that GPU is just as important as CPU when it comes to modern 3d rendering and Blender is able to use it effectively.

If you're going to travel a lot, don't buy anything above 15" and aim for something lightweight. I have a heavy 15" based on a Clevo P151EMx. It was a beast 4 years ago when I bought it, but it's a pain in the ass to drag around.. and I travel about 11 months per year.

I appreciate your input.

I have a nice lightweight Lenovo I use for work (non video stuff) and it's super light. I can see where I have a hard time relating to a big machine. I don't even really know what a big machine is. I've never used one.

I'm just waiting the end of the year to (hopefully) see how it will be the next Microsoft Transformer Book, and maybe pair it with an external USB monitor (which are very portable and lightweight)

Congratulations @diggndeeper.com! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 59185.02
ETH 2522.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47