You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: First blade - construction history

in #bladesmithing6 years ago

Wow, that's pretty freaking cool. I read the whole thing and learned quite a bit. I'm curious if this great post will get noticed or not. My hunch is probably not, but we'll see. Content discovery isn't that great around here (yet).

As for videos, you can embed both YouTube and Vimeo.

Seems like a ton of work. All that sanding reminds me of maintaining the boat, sending, varnishing, cleaning... ugh. Would be easier just to walk those 4 miles. :)

Sort:  

It would certainly be better quality exercise!

Other than tweeting, what's a good/polite marketing mechanism around these parts?

You know, I've been here a year and a half and I still don't really know the answer there. In many ways it's like joining any new social media platform. Without followers it's like tweeting to no one. Gaining followers? Well, that's tricky. I think it takes time, writing skill, and regularly contributing value to the content of others. I recently surpassed 10,000 posts and comments so I've put in a lot of effort here, but for me it has really paid off. With more users involved now, maybe doing what I did would be much harder now. Not sure. Links in comments isn't (usually) discouraged as long as they are completely on point and relevant while adding value to the discussion.

I put some thoughts together on this post which links to three others, though there probably isn't much there you wouldn't already know from other social media platforms you've been involved in: #SteemitIsToMe: Relationships, Reputation, and Rewards

Also, yes it is a lot of work. I'm going to stick with it for a while, though. It's one of the few times I fully disconnect and focus on something completely non-digital. Even if I'm basically just making art pieces at this point rather than useful knives/swords/tools/weapons/things, it's nice to have something in my life so, well, analog.

(And it's way cheaper than a boat.)

Definitely way cheaper than a boat! Hahah.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64278.56
ETH 3504.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54