What To Do If You Have Been Blacklisted By A Steem Account?

in #blacklist6 years ago (edited)

Disclaimer: I have been receiving some thoughtful comments about my account not deserving to be blacklisted. I wanted to clear up any confusion. The following is not written from personal experience, but rather my advice to a one of my followers who is currently facing this situation.

So, you have been posting on Steem for a while. You have been creating some content, you have made some friends, and you have even received your first Steem payout.

LIFE IS GOOD!

Until one day, you see a comment on your most recent post. Oh no! Another Steem account (with more Steem power than you have) passes along some bad news.

YOU HAVE BEEN BLACKLISTED!

paper-109277_640.jpg

source

What Does "Blacklist" Means?

A blacklist is a list that contains the names of people, products, activities, Steem accounts, etc. that are viewed as suspicious or considered to have done something wrong.

The funny thing about blacklists is that they can be somewhat arbitrary - meaning that the criteria for being placed on a blacklist can be based on personal preference.

But before you think that you have been wrongly accused by someone from the Steem community, be sure that you are not participating in any of the following activities:

PLAGIARISM

using someone else's content on you Steem blog and claiming it to be your own

For most Steem users, plagiarism is the greatest Steem sin. Of course, copy and pasting an entire article is the clearest form of plagiarism.

That is why there is a strong emphasis on sourcing the photos you use in your post, as well as only using images that fall under the CC0 licensing agreement. This designation means that you can use an image for personal or commercial use.

Now this one is more tricky. And I must be honest. I have failed at this one a time or two. Since we are dealing with real people and real interaction, the idea of sourcing out your inspiration is becoming more important. For me, this concept is more objective than subjective but no less important.

  • Did someone's post inspire you? Give them credit!
  • Are you writing a post in response to a challenge? Link back to the original challenge post!
  • Do you have a mentor that helps guide you on your Steem journey? Write up a shout out every once in a while!

SPAM

the act of sending out irrelevant messages to a large number of people

Spamming other people is so tempting when you first join the Steem community. Many other social networks allow (or even encourage) "like for like" and "follow for follow." But the Steem community does not look favorably at these types of comments.

"Nice post," "Great job," and other generic comments are also concerned spam.

My advice? Write genuine, authentic comments that prove that you read a post. If you do that on my posts, then I will be sure to reward you with an upvote.

But remember that Steem is not like other social media sites. Our likes are not just fun looking icons. Our likes result in a payout. And equally important, our dislikes can take away a portion of your payout.

SCAM OR FRAUD

the act of deceiving other people for personal gain

A scam is a carefully crafted plan that is designed to trick someone. Scams are common in all parts of life, but are becoming more prevalent online, and even in our Steem community.

People are trying to steal your information, take over your Steem account, an impersonate legitimate accounts for financial gain. We all have to be vigilant to protect ourselves and other members of our community. Let's not let the bad guys win!

I Support BlackLists (If They Are Done Correctly)

Blacklists are intended to punish behavior that is not acceptable in the Steem community.

Preventing plagiarism, spam, and scams are honorable activities in my opinion.

But we must be careful not to cross the line. I do not believe we should blacklist people because of differing opinions, ethnic backgrounds, religious affiliations, etc. I do not believe we should blacklist away free speech and personal choice.

So Now That You Are Blacklisted, What You Should Do?

Step #1 - Determine What You Did Wrong

The first step to finding a solution is understanding the REAL problem. But you may be thinking, "I didn't do anything." If you didn't do anything, then you probably would not have been blacklisted.

Someone (somewhere) thought you did something wrong. Figure out what it is!

Step #2 - Find The Source

So you want to get off of a blacklist? Really? You need to find out who blacklisted you.

Let's follow the trail. Remember this is a real-life situation for someone.

A message was left by @badcontent. That message references another account called @buildawhale.

badcontent.png

With a little bit of research,​ I realized that @buildawhale is a bid bot. A while back bid bots were accused of upvoting poor quality content so some of their operators starting taking steps to improve their operation and reputation - hence, the blacklists.

When in doubt, follow the discord app link.

Build a whale.png

I have never meet @themarkymark, so I am not willing to die on the fact that he is operating @buildawhale, but it sure looks like he does. And by the way, he is a witness.

For this situation, if the user wants to petition that his/her blacklist status be revoked, he/she can visit the #blacklist channel of Build A Whale on Discord.

Step #3 - Make Your Plea

This may be the hardest part of the whole process. A blacklisted user will need to state his or her case. Being blacklisted might be very emotional because there is a constant reminder on every post that you are blacklisted. And depending on how the blacklist account operates, you may also have some of your payout impacted as well.

Be honest and be humble. Tell the reasons why you should no​ longer be blacklisted. If you understand what you did wrong then explain what steps you will take so that you do not repeat the same mistakes. If you do not yet understand what you did wrong then, ask for clarification.

Again, this is the hardest step! If you do not present yourself well, then you run the risk of getting into more trouble.

Final Thoughts

Plagiarism​, spam, and scams are not received well in the Steem community (nor should they). If you have been participating in these types of activities then you will most likely be called out for that type of behavior.

I recommend that you keep creating quality content. If you use another person's image or reference someone else's work, be sure to source it. Make sure that your comments are always authentic and attentive. And make sure that you are not trying to deceive people for your own gain.

If you have any questions then let's continue the conversation in the comment section below. If you want to talk but don't want everyone to see, then send me a message via Discord (sumatranate#8674).

@SumatraNate


Image Source: There are screenshots in this post from @badcontent and @buildawhale.

@themarkymark, if you are concerned with the use of these screenshots, let me know within the next 7 days and I will remove them.


More About My Steem Projects

image source: bitmoji app Like This Post?
Upvote, Comment, Resteem
Want More Like It?
Follow My Steem Blog!
Learn how to format your Steem posts so that your great content looks great!
image source: pixabay Wanna Join The Best Birthday Party On The Steem Blockchain? Click here for more details!
Sort:  

I also thought, for a moment there, that you have been blacklisted @sumatranate until I reread your disclaimer at the top. 😊

I've never been blacklisted but I had someone asking Busy to do so.

Bascically I was flagged 100% by Steem Cleaners. One moderator removed the flag and said it should never have been given. another one wouldn't let it go and bad mouthed me a number of times.

The funny thing about blacklists is that they can be somewhat arbitrary - meaning that the criteria for being placed on a blacklist can be based on personal preference.

This paragraph of yours is critical I think.

The whole experience was pretty distressing to me and has changed my behaviour on Steemit. I now post less frequently and I avoid articles that need a lot of background research.

I wish you did not have this type of experience, but I am glad that you were able to find a solution.

When we communicate within the Steem community, we need to be mindful of what we write.

This paragraph of yours is critical I think.

When I read the above line from your commit, I thought that you believed I was being too critical of blacklists and that you might have been offended.

When I reread the above, I then thought that you might be highlighting what you believed to be the main point of the article.

It is funny how I can read the same thing a few times and pull out a few different possible meanings. I had to place this single line from one conversation in the context of all of our interactions (which have been positive). How many other times have we misread someone's intentions? We miss so much from context because we do not always have the blessing of hearing a person's tone of voice and seeing their body language.

Yep. I meant critical as in very important @sumantrate. 😁

That is what I thought in the end. But my mind was playing tricks on me because I was a bit on edge about the topic. I do not want to offend anyone.

You and we can not do anything in this. Because the blacklist will be every person in the future. In which any kind of posting comes just back to Baidakant. I have talked to them about this. There is no solution for this. Steemit too is unable to do anything in this. There is someone else in it. Use these words again and again. So far the warning comes in the steem. I do not see any solution for this.

I am hopeful that you can find a solution. I need to talk to you. Do you have a discord account?

Some great advice here! I have to admit I kinda giggle when I saw your title... it reminded me of @paulag's blacklist mistake. Have a great day.

Schhhhhhhhhhhhh some people are still not over it 😂😂😂

Posted using Partiko Android

Sorry.....should have whispered....

Posted using Partiko Android

My lips are sealed :)

I have not heard of this mistake and based on @paulag's comment below, we need to keep it on the down low. I hope you have a blessed day as well. See you around.

Mums the word. Lol!

Posted using Partiko Android

I am have been lucky enough to not be bklacklisted so far, but I have had contacts on here who were wrongly blacklisted so frustrating I am sure

I hope you can get yourself off the blacklist you do not deserve to be blacklisted for sure

@tattoodjay, I am glad to hear that you have stayed off any blacklist so far. I am sorry if the information I wrote was not clear. I have not been blacklisted either. So I added a disclaimer at the beginning of the post that hopefully clarifies that point.

Thanks for your concern and support.

Ohh sorry I misread, glad to hear you havent been blacklisted :)

Great advice Nate, I hope I will never have to use it and if I ever do I cab pretty safely say it will be from making someone angry with me because of an opinion or something along those lines since I always create my own content and never copy and paste. Even the photos I use are all my own, or at least 99% of them are if not more.
I wish your friend well on getting off that list.

Thanks @sultnpapper. I know there are legitimate reasons for being blacklisted. I hope it is clear that I do not support plagiarism, spam, and scams.

But I am a bit concerned that powerful users could arbitrarily "blacklist" people because of differing opinions. I do not want to walk this journey in fear, but I plan on being wise as I present my thoughts and opinions.

I agree Nate, there are legitimate reason like you listed and I think anyone who knows you knows you are a straight upstanding guy who doesn't condone those types of things that would get a person legitimately black listed.
The differing opinions and blacklisted over something like that by some folks with more power on here is concerning or should be for someone trying to make this their living or a major source of needed income.
So that should weigh in on how those people approach what they are doing for sure and what they publish in both posts and comments.

You bring up a great point. There is a fine balance between pushing the limits and being a "responsible" member of the community. If you are trying to earn a living on Steem, you might have to make a tough decision about which way to go.

Both have pros and cons.

They sure do have pros and cons, but only each person can account for how they go down which road.

So true. We all have to make that decision for ourselves. I am going to try to stay away from the drama.

It's actually pretty easy to avoid, but some people really need to read this post twice perhaps :P I wouldn't want to get blacklisted by mistake though, luckily the people behind them are pretty reasonable.

I think I prefer to stay on the side of avoiding the problem. I hope that people would be reasonable to hear someone's request to be removed from a blacklist, especially if that person is genuinely apologetic for misbehavior​.

It's not happened yet, but it seems it quite tough to get yourself removed from one.

Seems that way. It does appear that some blacklists provide an opportunity to present your case.

Like I mentioned I would recommend approaching that situation with humility. I also wonder how the cross-cultural side of things impacts our ability to resolve problems. Different cultures value different style of conflict resolution. So it seems that unwittingly someone could​ upset another member of our community without fully understanding what happened.

Thank you for putting all these together. Being blacklisted for no reason must be a nightmare. Ughhh

Glad to put together some thoughts together. I hope I never get blacklisted, but if it does happen, I have some thoughts of how to handle the situation.

Scary stuff. I didn't even know blacklisting on Steemit was a thing. Good advice for if it does happen though.

Hi @sumatranate!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.012 which ranks you at #3428 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 3430).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 373 contributions, your post is ranked at #73.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85