Caught mid-flight - Hummingbird in black and white


click the image for a larger version

Over the top of my computer, I can see the tips of our apple tree branches peeking up and reaching for the sky. I often find myself staring at the top of the tree as I compose emails or blog posts. Two afternoons ago I noticed a tiny bird sitting at the top of the branches. The darkening sky created a canvas of black and white around this normally very colorful bird. I grabbed my camera and my big, big, zooming lens and went outside. Dammit all if that little bird didn't run away the entire 20 minutes I sat outside. I came back inside, admitting defeat - when he landed again at the top of the tree.

I sat at the window, and snapped some pictures from indoors so I wouldn't chase him away. Here are the three images I captured in succession. Enjoy!

Sitting pretty

click the image for a larger version

Take Off

click the image for a larger version

In Flight

click the image for a larger version

Sort:  

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 00:44:24
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 43.60/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60200.47
ETH 3004.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63