White Belt Curriculum - Week 4 - Side-mount submissions

in #bjj6 years ago

white-belt curriculum1.jpg

It is slap and bump time ground animals! The standard quick review for those of you joining class for the first time, this is a serial look at the white belt curriculum taught at our BJJ academy. Taught by lead instructor and BJJ black belt Ryan, it is designed to give you a solid base and start to your Brazilian Jiu Jitsu game.

This class, Ryan goes through submissions from side control. I LOVE this aspect of the curriculum because I am in side control regularly, there are plenty of dangerous submissions you can catch, and mount is generally easier to get when your opponent is defending submissions.

Key personal observations:

  • For the key lock, I like to jam my elbow against the neck, give a little rib cage into their face, and those wrist twists are killer.
  • It is amazing to me how many straight arm locks I catch chained off a key-lock escape. That turning detail is nice!
  • Having Key-lock/straight arm lock/cross side arm bar combo in mind together leaves so many solutions to the variables of your opponent's escape tactics.
  • Terry is going to have a sore elbow a day or 2.

Again, this post is only as great as the people it reaches and the benefit it has to the beginners through to the head instructors. Please ask questions, post comments or just shoot the shit in the replies section as I try and leave no comments unanswered and un-upvoted.

Sort:  

Nice details on KeyLock, when I show bjj to my friends who don't train, it's the first one to show...cuz it's one of the easiest ones to understand I feel

:/ Also, I'd love to do the same regular inputs as you do, but our instructor forbids publishing videos from the gym online...Dunno, I like more the open environment between gyms etc, but I also get his point...there are several gyms in the area and many guys regularly fight against each other in MMA events..so I get his point..but sadly can't do such "vlogs" thing like you do.

I remember my first very scary class. We went over the mount as complete newbies and were shown the americana/key lock and were so pumped we learned a submission on our first day!

Over the years, as social media has evolved, I have seen open sharing of techniques, to secrecy (for competitive advantage) and back again. I like to share so that everyone benefits and the profile of BJJ gains momentum. That is the way I would run my gym/business.

Plus, this is the white belt curriculum and not the deep and nasty secrets we keep under lock and key! ;)

to myself if someone used something I taught them I'd be ecstatic, even if they used it on me!

Nice detail with the shoulder movement to create space to catch the arm in the first technique!! Will try that for sure =) Thanks for posting!!!

I have not watched the enire 18 minute video and I have my sound off just now. but this is very much in line with my game. I'm kind of an odd duck jiu jitsu wise, my guard passing is I'd say the most dynamic and exciting thing that I do. If I actually submit someone it's usually pretty slow and dull to watch. But I'm good with it.
Uusally the far side armbar is a sort of last resort thing for me if they get through the Americana and straight armlock I switch my grips to look for a kimura.
Our professor also showed us the Americana with a slightly different finish where we pull the elbow down to the hip, it didn't seem he did that with the blue gi partner but like I said had thesound off!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 60602.44
ETH 2617.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61