White Belt Curriculum - Week 4 - Side mount cont.

in #bjj6 years ago

white-belt curriculum1.jpg

Slap and Bump time fellow grapplers. If this is your first class with us, you can go back through my blog for other posts as I serialize theclasses and techniques from day 1 through the end of the full curriculum. Here is a quick overview video of the club I call home.

In this episode, Ryan (lead instructor and BJJ black belt) goes through details and technique around the bottom side of side control.

Personal observations:

  • ALWAYS have your frame. If you can't get your forearm at their neck, you are in for a world of shoulder face squash
  • When done properly, the opponent on top will feel less confident and on the verge of losing you because of the knee and elbow pressure
  • When you defend properly, the top guy hold on harder, gets over you more, and puts more pressure on......opening them up to be rolled over/reversed
  • Get Sideways! - I have to remind myself to not be flattened on my back and get up on my shoulder a bit

As always, I love passing this wisdom along, answering questions and discussing so let me know what you think. Does this make you wanna train? Help you with your training already? Tips on instructing? Requests?

jj4l-logo2_1_orig.png

Sort:  

Right on, knowing the basic guidelines to keep you safe on the bottom is enough to make the difference from a victim to a practitioner. A white belt with good defensive positioning will be a better training partner for the upper belts.

YAH! I have been training a while and have a little wrestling background so I know my side control pressure. So, with the white belts, I sometimes pause when I have side control and correct the knee pressure to my hip, and make sure do drop some serious shoulder action when they don't frame to protect their throat.

The more they train, the better they get on the bottom and I have to resort to old man BJJ tricks to advance. ;)

LOL old man tricks are the best tricks!

Remind me to avoid spending jail time with you brother!

Your third personal observation is so true...

I pray I don't get to fight someone in real life.

I don't know if you would believe it, but I have never fought before, though I have been in heated arguments.

Same here. Like one fight forced on me in highschool and that is it. Though I fight multiple times every week, I hope NEVER to have to use it in a real life situation. If it does happen, I am pretty sure I know how it will go down and have a plan to de-escalate it quickly.

Yeah, if it happens, I know how it will go down. I'm throwing a pity party for the victim in advance 😂 😂 😂

This is a good discussion which I think needs to happen more in posts and replies.

Because I have had a 99.99% success rate in turning confrontational situations into peaceful outcomes, I am confident in my ability to make it happen again....in a normal situation.

I also acknowledge that I may be in a situation beyond normal where there is alcohol involved for which I need to be prepared. I only hope that my training (martial arts/business/life) will enable me to neutralize and de-escalate so that nobody gets hurt.

Otherwise it is flight, or a couple broken arms at the very worst. ;)

Giving peace a chance is the best and first option, always.

If it involves an unrepentant bully, he has to get a taste of the pudding, right. He must be served just right.

About the broken arms, I wouldn't expect less. Especially with all these trainings and tutorials.

Cheers 🍻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62779.83
ETH 3443.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50