Wrestling-phobia in BJJ: Why, How, and a Potential Cure

in #bjj7 years ago (edited)

“I just pull guard, brah! LOL”. It’s almost a mantra. Sure it’s self-deprecating, maybe even charming, but are you a puller because you want to be, or because you never really had the knowledge to be otherwise? The problem, of course, is not the sport or concepts of wrestling, but the methodology by which it’s usually taught. Did you go to a BJJ gym 15 years ago? How did instructors teach? Generally speaking, it was a roll of the dice. Not bad usually, but certainly an ad hoc process.

I remember training at Roger Machado’s place in Pasadena for five weeks in 2003. He was a very warm, welcoming guy (as were his many students). On any given day, we would learn two to four random ass moves. Was it fun? Hell yeah. Did it all stick in my brain? Meh, kinda? I remember learning a flying armbar and a no-arm triangle. There was also a penchant for there not to be names for things. Not uncommon for those days to start with “Ok guys. today, we do...sweep”. For any of my old-school homies, I’m sure this brings nostalgic memories back to the fore.

Fast-forward to 2018, however, the game has changed dramatically. Instructors are detail-oriented assassin nerds. People learn, combine, and synthesize techniques from far-flung sources. BJJ as an art has made tremendous leaps and bounds in the last five years, let alone the last 15. Many of those innovations accentuate the already accessible nature of ground fighting.

Other grappling arts are not so accessible for a learner and still use an ad hoc process. When it comes to wrestling, Judo, and Sambo, I find that structure is still highly dependant on the coach, but it still tends to be taught to the room and not the individual. And for most of these rooms, the learning curve is brutal. There isn’t really a whole lot of differentiated learning time to get used to the process of tossing other humans before you’re asked to start repping body locks.


I think it's my turn

Just for simplicity’s sake, we’ll take double-leg takedowns as a familiar example. It’s thought of as basic, but I would not call it "easy". Take a look at this sequence: Clear the hands and head, change levels, penetration step, hands in the pockets, head up, back straight, and look across the back. And then we still have to finish. That’s a lot happening in a .37 seconds, and not a lot of class time is devoted to the incremental, microscopic basics.

In BJJ, we’re doing a plethora of warm ups that get us used to moving, and after chaining a few of those at even a glacial pace, most any programmer with a four-year old’s coordination can make something happen. That's why everyone loves BJJ. The realization that using small movements in the right sequence, going at most any speed, can topple another human or dislocate shoulders is empowering. The almost instant intellectual/physical gratification is real. That, coupled with the depth and breadth of it all keeps bringing people back for more.

What about good ol’ wrasslin’, how different can it be? We’re talking about much less surface area on the mat, much more space to cover, and the possibility of someone using that space to use their explosive strength to smoosh you. I understand why people are nervous. There’s less time to feel or ‘discover’ your way out than in BJJ. If their fundamentals aren’t solid, maybe they ought to be nervous. There’s just less room for error than in BJJ.

Quick fixes? Nothing quick, except in the paradigm of the coach. Newbs should do at least a few classes where they acquire the many small, basic, movements needed in wrestling first before doing anything more intricate. That requires an instructor who has spent enough time and thought to break things down to the most digestible morsels. In other words, teaching Wrestling more like Jiu Jitsu is currently taught. I’ll post some technique in the near future.

Get in here!:

*Instagram

*My first BJJ technique video

*Introducing myself with my face and things

Photo by Nidhin Koshy. Tell me that lighting isn't perfect and that I don't have nice foot arches.

Sort:  

WARNING! The comment below by @zamanhuri14 leads to a known phishing site that could steal your account.
Do not open links from users you do not trust. Do not provide your private keys to any third party websites.

this is a good post there are a lot of guard pullers in bjj but in many cases it's out of necessity. not every bjj place has a wrestling coach. and you don't want to 'teach yourself' with a skillset like that.

for considerable time as my focus was Striking I just let my punches work for takedowns and my grappling was a totally different focus. I did build up a fairly varied skillset but of all the options I feel 'Wrestling' is my least well developed.

"... you don't want to 'teach yourself' with a skillset like that."

That's very true, maybe I should just throw my beginner's curriculum up here.

"varied skillset but of all the options I feel 'Wrestling' is my least well developed."

I think this is very common, but as you allude to, it has more to do with logistics than intention. It is hard to wrestle everyday, but much less hard to do BJJ or boxing, for example. There's something to be said about the ability to practice something with frequency.

I have developed some skills for takedowns but it's a strange mixmash due to how I learned it and practiced. my low single is solid, even goes to quite good if they situation is that they were trying to break free from a grapple and stand up I can cover the space they open so they feel they are safe and are not. I have gotten this takedown on significantly better werstlers then myself. I have an ok single in general my double is pretty crap to be honest.
I have some good trips/footsweeps and if it's in a gi I have at least a few options once I secure a grip. of course that is the trick lol
the thing is since I only have a few options someone only needs a few defensive pointers from a skilled wrestler or judoka to be "out of reach" as far as my takedowns go.

I really have no Judo or Sambo options where I live. It is actually difficult even just finding people willing to rep takedowns beause it isn't something they are as comfortable with. like if I want someone to rep sweeps with me I can basically pick my partner right everyone is willing but if I say something about repping singles holy cow maybe 1 in 20 are willing.....

I have a similar priority now too:

1)Low/Outside Single

  1. to Elevated Single
  2. Double
  3. Everything Else

No Judo options? That's some what surprising given how widespread that art is.

What about if you say "Can we drill this takedown I learned last week suuuuper slow? I mean, I have to go work tomorrow". There could be some tension because they have been injured doing takedowns, or they don't know how hard you'll go on your reps.

Dude, I had wrestling phobia for years!

Not uncommon! What was the turning point for you?

My turning point was once I began training with a few different high level college wrestlers. I noticed how much better their takedowns, and just general control was. I noticed how difficult they were to keep down, and how well they scrambled. Even then, wrestling always felt more rough and taxing on my body, and I'm 39. But, after awhile, I just decided to commit to getting better and working on wrestling and takedowns. I wish I had began focusing on this from the very beginning.

That's some serious dedication! Definitely rougher with the space involved. Glad you are taking the time!

Also, my student (the same one in the picture) has been watching a lot of your videos lately. Great stuff!

U master bjj u are technical, u master wrestling you are a beast!

This. This is interesting. Where is it from?

Just my perspective coming from mma experience :)

Try Our Service Before Buy🎁

  • Exclusive 30 days free upvotes to your every new post.
  • Limited Time Offer
  • No need to send any kinds of steem or sbd its full free service.
    we have paid service too so please check them too. Active the free upvote service and learn more about it here : JOIN NOW CLICK HERE

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61436.18
ETH 2381.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55