From White to Blue Belt - My BJJ Diary Training 3

in #bjj7 years ago

20662588_10214303088356215_1521133610_o.jpg

So I just came back from the last training this week. I managed to reach my minimum goal of 3 BJJ sessions and 2 Yoga sessions.

On the picture, you can see an exhausted Flipstar and one of the trainers who sadly will be leaving soon to go back to Brazil to prepare for some upcoming tournaments.

We did a very long warm up and I was ready to go home after this already.

The technique we practised today was an escape from the side control. If we are controlled we go "inside" with our arm which is on our opponents hip to create some space. We pull ourselves inside our opponent and "twist" us out of his control. If we are fast enough we can even catch his neck.

Where I had problems:

While it worked good during drilling, one reason might be I was already familiar with this escape, I had still issues pulling it off while fighting, especially against a blue belt I rolled with. I am still too slow and have to think about the move too long. This can be solved through more drilling and more practise.

What did I learn:

I want to remember one technique per session or one detail. If I try to remember everything I just get overwhelmed. I also want to roll more with the blue belts. While from some I just get destroyed I still learn a lot and often get valuable tips.

Overall I feel I had some good progress. I still dont land a lot of the submissions I am attempting but I survive better and manage to escape and at least try to attack myself.
Enjoy your weekend dear Steemians

Sort:  

Congratulations on the post, continue on this journey, I am following your progress!

some questions...
What is the name of your team?
Who is your master?

One tip ... Watch the BJJ After 40 videos on Instagram, the guy teaches many good moves.

I will check it out thx for the tip!

Atm I am training at Phuket Top Team under Olavo Abreu.

But I will need to leave Thailand soonish and will continue training in Bali then.

Dude, you're in Thailand, this is amazing!!

You've heard of Stuart Cooper? He travels the world to train Jiu Jitsu with several different masters... Recently he was in Thailand, You could have done a workshop with him.

Are you in Steemchat?

Yes I know him. He was also living in the street I am staying atm. But he is not in Thailand anymore he is teaching in Singapore now as far as I know.

Yes I am in steemitchat! I am afk quite often but feel free to drop a message!

Beep beep. Hi @kozak! I am @tipU - a service designed to make sending tips super easy.
I also share my profits with the users ;) Click here if you wish to learn more!

Nice! I have a black belt in 🥋.......well when I was 16. Lol....I'm 46 now.

you would probably still whoop my ass :-)

I got told it should be whip and not whop my ass as the meaning would differ a lot :-)

Good to see some more quality bjj content. You'll have a huge log of material on here in the 1-3 years it will take to reach your blue goal. Keep it up!

I will!

I hope I will get a bit better with the structure and describing the techniques over time.

What kind of yoga classes do you do? I'm a yoga teacher and BJJ enthusiast, so I'd be interested to know which style of yoga.. I know Rogan prefers the Hot Yoga. I teach tradition hatha yoga which is generally very slow and meditative, with long deep relaxation at the end ^^

I enjoyed reading your article, we are on a similar path, as I started learning BJJ about 5 months ago.

I do also hot yoga.

But not Bikram.

I go to changing times, to diffrent teachers. All of them has their different focus. Some more on breahting, some more on stretching.

I dont know how the Yoga is called actually.

Do you love football dear @flipstar?
I invite you soccer contest by me : )

Sry, but even I am german and supposed to love football I dont like it ;-)

I'd love to get back in to martial arts, which I fully intend to do! Have done kickboxing and Muay Thai, so those would be good but also interested in BJJ and the grappling arts... either way, a great form of exercise and discipline to be involved with!

I have done Muay-Thai also for a long time.

Then I did my first BJJ session and I was hooked. I rolled with a purple belt the first time and I thought I would be able to handle the problem somehow but he was like a magican.

But sometimes I miss the striking arts.

Im glad that people still doing sports in 2017. In a day, i wanted to do kick boxing but i had an accident and now i cant do that at a high level. Good luck with your sport. Be strong and never give up.

sry to hear that. But you are still able to train? That is still worth a lot.

well congrats for your achievement and good luck with your training.

congrats bros

Looking like a tired @flipstar. I was trying to learn martial arts in the past - JKD, Muay Thai but I was just scared to break my tiny bones lol. I wanted to learn because you know the way I travel, there are many bad guys on the road. I even wanted to learn krav maga. I just hope I find time to learn some basic self defense before I travel again.

So far, I only know how to kick someone in the balls or hug him then pierce his eyes through my fingers! ;)

I think that are all good choices for self defense and the kick in the balls is already a great weapon in your arsenal, as we men dont really like that :-).

But besideds the self defense aspect it brings a lot of benefits.

If you find time and a shool and art you like I can only recomned it to give it another shot. I know you found many friends through longboarding and this is also true for martial arts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65248.25
ETH 3471.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51