Learning From Sensei Daisuke Nakamura - Brazilian Jiujitsu Master

in #bjj7 years ago (edited)

This past weekend our team had the opportunity to have a few sessions with our head blackbelt from Japan, Daisuke Nakamura. Sensei Daisuke is arguably the best BJJ practitioner from Asia, a winner of multiple world titles in BJJ and submission grappling. It was an amazing experience to learn from a world class blackbelt.

21056086_489424581407099_8765784002546029107_o.jpg

_DSF6994.jpg
Sensei Daisuke with Pato Studio - Cebu Jiujitsu Main Instuctors

The first thing you notice with Sensei Daisuke was his positive aura. He is always smiling, all through out his instruction and during sparring. It was infectious. Our friend and teammate, Hiroshi provided the translation for the instructions but most of the movements could be understood as Daisuke did them. The amazing thing was there were a lot of simple movements that blew our minds. It was eye opening how little adjustments could open up a whole new world to your game.

Sensei Daisuke sparred with every single person that attended the seminars. During my turn, I felt how I did back when I was a fresh white belt. Feeling like 10 steps behind every movement but enjoying very moment of it. As Sam Harris would put it "The pleasures of drowning."


Sam Harris - The Pleasures of Drowning

Also got a my final stripe on my blue belt, one step closer to a purple belt. I've not cared too much about stripes since my 3rd stipe at white belt. But it still felt nice to be acknowledged by your instructors.

Sensei Daisuke is a great role model. Having seen how a world-class blackbelt teach and move has changed my goals. I strive to have that mix of humility and quiet confidence that he has by the time I get my blackbelt and have movements that are as smooth and effortless as his.

21175249_10155053532863460_1108978319_n.jpg

Sort:  

Ohhh wicked I'm out in Tokyo now on a graffiti project! I've been training at Carpe Diem in Hiro-o! The guys out here are amazing.

Great write up ;) Ousss

Ohhh cool, heard good things about the Carpe Diem team. Hope I can visit and train in Japan someday. If you ever visit Cebu, Philippines you're more than welcome to train with us. Also know a few streetart and graffiti guys here :) Used to dabble myself lol

Yeah great bunch of guys! If you get a chance then do the place is amazing I could do another 2 and bit weeks here easy as there so much to do! And I'll keep note of that as I've never been to the Philippines before so that would be great. Seems like an amazing place. Do you guys have a insta or face book? And I can follow on there. I'll also follow the guys on instagram if they are putting their work up there ;)

Congrats on the stripe! Keep it up. That is amazing that he traveled to come teach the seminar, you really get to see how much most Black Belts appreciate BJJ when you see the lengths that they are willing to go to to help expand its reach.

Thanks bro! So grateful that we have a black belt like him :)

@feedroh got you a $1.68 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@feedroh got you a $1.68 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60