Brazilian Jiujitsu Competition Training Log #6: Imposing Your Game and Visualization (Be like Conor McGregor)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #bjj7 years ago (edited)

bjj3.jpg

Half way through the competition camp. This time it's time to pick up the pace and start peaking as the end of the camp arrives. Today I focused on imposing my game plan and visualizing the actual match. I realized in my previous competition, I lost positions when I was letting my opponent dictate the pace of the game and letting them play their game on me. During training, I imagined my training partner to be my opponent during the actual competition. I let myself imagine that I was in the actual location of the competition. I was imagining that there was a crowd cheering on their teammates and friends. I let myself feel the spotlight on me, the adrenaline, the nerves coming up. I did really well during sparing, I was able to finish all my opponents with the same setup, which was actually my plan B finish.

I was listening to a Tim Ferriss podcast earlier with performance psychologist, Michael Gervais, {link here} that talked about visualization and I was happy that I was able to apply it. I will trying to practice more of the exercises on visualization and try to make my imagination more vivid. Will try to visit the venue for the competition a few weeks before the actual day to make my imagination have more fuel to fire up when I try to imagine myself there. I naturally have a vivid visual imagination but feel I haven't really tapped into its potential. This is sort of an experiment on how much I can achieve with this. We already know that top performers use this technique like Conor McGregor. Lets see how far it can go.

Sort:  

I am delighted. Thank you for continuing to write.

Thanks for reading :)

Using imagination and visualizing during your training is a good way to train for a competition mentally. It works! :)

This is nice. @steemiteducation would love to see this. It is educational. I like how your carve out your niche using your blog

Oh thanks. I used to teach in a design school for a few years actually :) Guess the teacher in me is flowing out.

@feedroh got you a $1.53 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice!
@feedroh got you a $1.53 @minnowbooster upgoat, nice! (Image: pixabay.com)


Want a boost? Click here to read more!

Good work and wonderful wish you more tender

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61726.97
ETH 2392.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60